Skip to Main Content

Applied Chemistry: Home

This guide provides resources on Diploma in Applied Chemistry, giving you a firm foundation in chemistry, chemical analysis and synthesis, chemical and pharmaceutical engineering, biological sciences, pharmaceutical sciences, skills in designing experimen

Search

Chemistry Textbook

Resources for Diploma in Applied Chemistry

The Library not only subscribes to many databases and e-resources, but also houses a good collection of books and journals to support teaching learning and research needs.

The School of Applied Science books are classified according to Library of Congress Classification Scheme. You may wish to search the Catalogue by Title, Author, Subject, ISBN, Publisher for the Collection, including of e-Book, databases , e-Journal that are accessible via the Library Portal.

Please use the tabs to navigate the guide and feel free to contact me if you have any queries about this resource guide on Applied Chemistry (C45).

You may wish to click here to browse through Library Services to Support Teaching & Learning libguide.

DynaMed database covers the following subject topics:

  • Clinical Laboratory
  • Clinical Trials
  • Laboratory Skills
  • Microbiological Analysis
  • Instrumental Delivery
  • Spectrophotometry
  • Synthesis
  • Purified

Diploma: Applied Chemistry

Principles of Biochemistry : A multimedia lecture series in The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection

Principles of Biochemistry : A multimedia lecture series in The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection

Lecture 1: Introduction to biochemistry
  • Matter in the universe
  • Origin of chemistry
  • Properties of living systems
  • Main categories of biomolecules
  • Metabolism and the importance of enzymes

Lecture 2: Amino acids and peptides
  • Ionisable groups
  • Properties and classification of the 20 amino acids
  • Formation of the peptide bond
  • The hydrophobic effect
  • Introduction to myoglobin

Lecture 3: Protein structure principles
  • Primary protein structure
  • X-ray diffraction and protein 3D structure
  • Interactions within proteins
  • Peptide bond constraints
  • Ramachandran maps

Lecture 4: Observed protein structures
  • Protein secondary structures (α helix, β-sheet, turns, and collagen)
  • Collagen properties
  • The ‘protein fold’
  • Protein arrangement according to type of fold, superfamily and family

Lecture 5: Protein folds and IV structure
  • Multiple-folds
  • Stable quaternary structure
  • Transient quaternary structure
  • Binding/Interaction domains
  • Levels of protein structure

Lecture 6: Protein stability and folding
  • Protein stability
  • Folding and refolding
  • Molecular chaperones
  • Motions within proteins
  • Protein classification by function and complexity

Lecture 7: Haemoglobin structure and stability
  • Myoglobin vs. haemoglobin
  • T-state and R-state of haemoglobin
  • Haemoglobin affinity for O₂
  • The Bohr effect
  • Two models for O₂ binding affinity

Lecture 8: Enzyme specificity and catalysis
  • Categories of enzymes
  • Enzyme specificity
  • Reaction rate
  • Gibbs function
  • The Boltzmann distribution
  • Catalysts roles and mechanisms

Lecture 9: Enzyme kinetics (Michaelis-Menten)
  • Initial reaction velocity
  • Catalysed vs. uncatalysed reaction pathways
  • Enzyme saturation/Maximum reaction velocity
  • Michaelis-Menten equation
  • Energy barriers and rate constants
  • Measuring Km and Vmax
  • The Lineweaver-Burk plot

Lecture 10: Enzyme inhibition; chymotrypsin
  • Efficient enzymes
  • Competitive inhibition
  • Non-competitive inhibition
  • Irreversible inhibition
  • Diagrams of enzyme mechanisms
  • Chymotrypsin mechanism

Lecture 11: Enzyme regulation and coenzymes
  • Metal ions
  • Coenzymes
  • Control of enzyme concentration (synthesis, degradation)
  • Control of enzyme activity
  • Aspartate carbamoyl transferase allostery
  • Chymotrypsin activation

Lecture 12: Lipids, biomembranes and membrane proteins
  • Properties of biomembranes
  • Types of lipid bilayer phases
  • Types of fatty acyl chains
  • Phospholipases
  • Types of membrane association
  • Membrane fusion

Lecture 13: Structure and function of carbohydrates
  • Properties of carbohydrates and their complexity
  • Carbohydrate energy role
  • Carbohydrate structural role
  • Glycosaminoglycans & proteoglycans
  • Carbohydrate recognition role

Lecture 14: Metabolism principles
  • High-energy molecules
  • Information in the Gibbs function
  • Types of transport across biomembranes
  • Oxidation-reduction reactions

Lecture 15: Glycolysis - energy and useful cell chemicals
  • Complexity of metabolism
  • Glucose as the cell’s energy source
  • Interconnections of glycolysis and other metabolisms
  • Glycolysis in detail

Lecture 16: Glycolysis control

  • Control of glycogen breakdown (hormonal and local)
  • Hormone amplification
  • Control of 3 key enzymes of glycolysis
  • Universal principles of enzyme regulation

Lecture 17: Metabolism of pyruvate and fat
  • Fates of pyruvate
  • Acetyl-CoA formation
  • Citric Acid Cycle and connections to other metabolisms
  • Catabolism of fats
  • ß-oxidation of fatty acids
  • Ketone bodies Categories of enzymes
Lecture 18: Urea cycle; oxidative phosphorylation
  • Amino acids catabolisms
  • Urea Cycle and connections to other metabolism
  • Overview of ‘energetics metabolism’
  • Electronic transport in Mitochondria (Complexes I to IV)
  • ATP synthase Motions within proteins
  • H+ gradient in mitochondria and Chemiosmotic mechanism
Lecture 19: Light-driven reactions in photosynthesis
  • Introduction to photosynthesis
  • Fates of absorbed light
  • Role of chlorophyll and other pigments
  • Events in photosystems II and I
  • Photosynthesis vs. electronic mitochondrial transport
  • Z-scheme
Lecture 20: Gluconeogenesis and the Calvin cycle
  • Anabolism
  • Gluconeogenesis vs. glycolysis
  • Substrate cycling
  • Calvin Cycle step by step
Lecture 21: Synthesis of lipids and N-containing molecules
  • Fatty acid synthase complex in detail
  • Biosynthesis of complex lipids
  • Synthesis of fats and phospholipids
  • Cholesterol biosynthesis
  • Lipoproteins and their roles
  • Synthesis of N-containing molecules

Lecture 22: Hormone mechanisms
  • Hormone action via G-protein
  • Steroid hormone action in nucleus
  • Insulin action in cytosol and nucleus
  • Metabolic control to cancer
  • Course summary

Inorganic Chemistry: an Overview for the Topics Covered in Introductory Inorganic Chemistry Courses

  • Atomic Weight
  • Avogadro’s Number
  • Balancing Chemical Equations
  • Bohr Model of the Atom
  • Cations and Anions
  • Characteristic or Group Oxidation Numbers
  • Chemical Equations
  • Chemical Stoichiometry
  • Covalent Bonds
  • Deviations from Regular Shapes
  • Elements, Atoms and Molecules
  • Elements, Mixtures and Compounds (Molecules)
  • Empirical Formula
  • Features of Interest of Simple Compounds - Working Method
  • Hybridisation of Atomic Orbitals. 
  • Hybridisation in Polynuclear Molecules 
  • Limiting Reactions
  • Main Group Variable Valence
  • Molar Solutions
  • Molecular Orbital Theory of Diatomic Molecules
  • Oxidation Numbers
  • Rules for the Determination of Oxidation Numbers
  • Redox Reactions
  • Polyatomic Covalent Molecules
  • Simple Chemical Names
  • Transition Metal Variable Valence
  • Types of Chemical Formula
  • Variation in the Atomic Radii
  • Variation in the Ionisation Potentials
  • Variation in the Electron Affinities or Attachment Enthalpies
  • Volumetric Reactions
  • Volumetric Titrations
  • Writing an Essay or Report from a Spider Diagram
  • The Advantages of VSEPR Theory
  • The Application of the Working Method to the Lewis
  • The Application of the Working Method to a Selection of Simple Compounds
  • The Build-up Process for the Periodic Table
  • The Calculation of Chemical Stoichiometry Factors
  • The Disadvantages of VSEPR Theory
  • The Oxyacids and Oxyanions of the Main Group Elements
  • The Periodic Table
  • The Preparation of Simple Compounds from the Elements 
  • The Reactions of Simple Compounds
  • The Shapes of Covalent Molecules
  • The Shape of Dinuclear Molecules
  • The Structure of the Atom
  • The Working Method for Drawing Lewis Structures
  • The Working Method for Using VSEPR Theory

Organic Chemistry: an Overview for the Topics Covered in Introductory Organic Chemistry Courses

  • Aromatic hydrocarbons
  • Aldehydes and ketones
  • Amines and other heterocyclic molecules
  • Amino acids
  • Benzene and other aromatic hydrocarbons
  • Carboxylic acids and their derivatives
  • Chemical equilibrium, enthalpy, and acids and bases
  • Compounds of carbon such as alkanes and cycloalkanes
  • Compounds derived from water and hydrogen sulfide
  • Compounds derived from ammonia 
  • Displacement and elimination reactions
  • Electronic structure of atoms
  • Organic compounds such as alkanes, cycloalkanes, alkenes, cycloalkenes, and alkynes
  • Organic reaction mechanisms 
  • Molecular structure
  • Molecular orbitals
  • How most of the amino acids, sugars, heterocyclic molecules, and fatty acids necessary for life processes could have been formed on Earth
  • Hybridization of atomic orbitals in carbon
  • Mass spectrometry and nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy
  • Nucleic acids
  • Peptides
  • Proteins
  • Use of molecular spectroscopy in studying the chemical structure of organic complexes
  • Use of instrumentation methods in organic chemistry

Pharmacology Study Guide

Statistics: Concepts / An Overview for the Topics Covered in Introductory Statistics Courses 

Concepts to be mastered for Biostatistics Module:
  • Binomial Distribution
  • Poisson Distribution
  • Mean and Variance of a Random Variable
  • Measures of Central Tendency
  • Probability
  • Counting
  • Linear Regression Line
  • Standard Deviation
  • Confidence Interval for Population Mean
Statistics  an overview for the topics covered in introductory statistics courses 

Basic Definitions, including descriptive statistics, inferential statistics, population, cluster sample, stratified sample, simple random sample, variable data, levels of measurement, statistic, parameter.

  • Frequency Distribution
  • Measures of Central Tendency
  • Measures of Dispersion
  • Graphing Techniques
  • Probability
  • Random Variables
  • Continuous Random Variables
  • Statistical Inference
  • Biased & Unbiased Estimators
  • Standard Error of the Mean
  • Hypothesis Testing
  • Central Limit Theorem
  • Inference for Population Mean using the Z-Statistic
  • Inference for Population Mean using the T-Statistics
  • Confidence Intervals
  • Comparing Population Means
  • Comparing Variances
  • Analysis of Variance (Anova)
  • Proportions
  • Correlation
  • Chi-Square (X2) Tests
  • Hypothesis Test for Linear Correlation
  • Regression
  • Simple Linear Regression
  • Significance of a Regression Model
  • Linear Determination
  • Residuals

Chem Lab Basics

Chem Lab Basics

  • Lab Safety Training
  • General Lab Guidelines
  • Working with Chemicals
  • Exposure to Chemicals
  • First Aid
  • Know Your Lab Reagents
  • Chemical Spills
  • Waste Management
  • Useful Chemical Information
  • Periodic Table Included
  • Lab Must-Knows
  • Safe Use of Lab Equipment
  • Data Manipulation
  • Preparing a Solution

Bio Lab Basics

Bio Lab Basics

Lab Safety & First Aid

Essential Methods & Tools

  •    Scientific Method
  •    Measurements
  •    Statistics
  •    Common Biology Lab Equipment
  •    Microscopy

Essential Concepts 

Cell Structure

Cell Transport

Respiration

Photosynthesis

Enzyme Activity

Organismal Diversity

Mitosis

Meiosis

Molecular Genetics

Mendelian Genetics

Field Biology

Chemistry: an Overview for the Topics Covered in Introductory Chemistry Courses

Chemistry Concepts

  • Formal Bonding Models
  • Molecular Properties: Geometry
  • Valence Bond Theory
  • Hybrid Orbitals
  • Chemical Bonding & Quantum Mechanics
  • Behavior of Gases
  • Molecular Orbital Theory
  • Mixtures & Solutions
  • Solids
  • Oxidation-Reduction Reactions
  • Properties of Inorganic Salts
  • Acid-Based Reactions
  • Thermodynamics
  • Equilibrium
  • Kinetics
  • Nuclear Chemistry
  • Measurement & Units

Subject Topics that are covered by Biochemistry / Medicinal Chemistry / Cell Biology for Medicinal Chemistry

Subject Topics

  • Monosaccharides and Disaccharides
  • Amino Acids
  • Tertiary and quaternary structures of a protein bond
  • Define protein, Protein digestion, Protein destruction and degradation in human body
  • Cholesterol
  • Fat-soluble vitamins
  • The formation of bond configurations
  • The third law of thermodynamics
  • Water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins in terms of absorption, storage, excretion, deficiency onset and risk of toxicity
  • Enzyme and biochemical reaction
  • Enzymatic rate
  • Characteristics of enzymes
  • Glucose molecules
  • The Michealis-Menten’s plot
  • Briefly describe how absorbed lipids are transported in the blood
  • Inorganic catalysts
  • Trace the fate of the electrons produced from Citric Acid Cycle, indicating the name of electron carriers, location of reaction and final acceptor
  • Glycogen-degrading enzyme
  • Decrease of the glucose concentration in the blood after a long-distance run
  • Describe the energy harvesting phase of glycolysis, including the substrates, enzymes, products and ATP consumption/production
  • Tertiary and quaternary structures of a protein bond
  • Define protein, Protein digestion, Protein destruction and degradation in human body
  • Cholesterol
  • Fat-soluble vitamins
  • The formation of bond configurations
  • The third law of thermodynamics
  • Water-soluble and fat-soluble vitamins in terms of absorption, storage, excretion, deficiency onset and risk of toxicity
  • Enzyme and biochemical reaction, Enzymatic rate
  • Characteristics of enzymes
  • Glucose molecules
  • The Michealis-Menten’s plot
  • Briefly describe how absorbed lipids are transported in the blood
  • Inorganic catalysts
  • Trace the fate of the electrons produced from Citric Acid Cycle, indicating the name of electron carriers, location of reaction and final acceptor
  • Glycogen-degrading enzyme
  • Decrease of the glucose concentration in the blood after a long-distance run
  • Describe the energy harvesting phase of glycolysis, including the substrates, enzymes, products and ATP consumption/production

Module : Biochemistry

Subject Topics

  • Streptomycin and the Family of Antibiotics
  • Heterocycles
  • Strategy to reduce the protein binding
  • The uptake of dopamine by blocking the dopamine transporters
  • Draw the stereoisomers with wedged and dashed bonds
  • Polo-like kinases (PLKs)
  • Regulating the cell cycle progression, centriole duplication, mitosis, cytokinesis and response to DNA damage
  • Inhibitor and inhibitory activity
  • Gram-positive and gram-negative bacteria
  • A concentrated acetic (ethanoic) acid solution
  • Describe the mechanism of action for thienamycin
  • Draw the structure of pentunabolol and indicate possible interactions that it may have with the receptors
  • Calculate the value of the molar absorptivity of a compound
  • Chlorine isotopes
  • Mass spectrum
  • IR spectroscopy
  • Approximate chemical shifts

Module : Medicinal Chemistry

Subject Topics

  • Describe how the red blood cell is tailored to its function
  • Cell sap
  • Secondary cell wall
  • Plastids
  • Protein modified
  • Protein packaged
  • Organelle found in a prokaryotic and eukaryotic cell
  • Roles of cytoskeleton
  • Function of membrane proteins in cell transport and signal transduction
  • Role of cholesterol in the cell membrane
  • Differences between passive and active transport
  • The single-celled organism and tonicity the type of environment
  • The molar absorptivity of a compound
  • Based on the diagram, state common isotopes of chlorine and the relative abundance
  • IR spectroscopy
  • Mass spectrum
  • Splitting patterns at approximate chemical shifts

Module : Cell Biology for Medicinal Chemistry

Periodical Table for the Elements, pH Scales, State of Matter, Chemistry Icons

Periodical Table of the Elements

pH Scales

State of Matter

Chemistry Icons

Case Law, Dictionaries & Glossaries for Intellectual Property Terminology

SciFinderⁿ : Collection of Chemical Substances, Reactions & Literature References

Location of Search Options    

When you log in to CAS SciFindern, search options are presented at the top of the Home page. (You can click the CAS SciFindern logo to return to the Home page at any time.)

All Search finds substances, reactions, references, and suppliers that match your query. 

You can enter search terms that identify the subject of interest (e.g., keyword, research topic, document identifier, patent information, substance name, CAS Registry Number) or draw/import a structure query.

Document Identifier refers to:
  • Accession Number
  • Document Number
  • PubMed ID Number (in quotes)
  • Digital Object Indentifier (DOI)
Patent Information refers to:
  • Patent Number
  • Patent Application Number
  • Priority Application Number
  • Publication Year
  • Accession Number
  • Document Number
  • PubMed ID Number (in quotes)
  • Digital Object Indentifier (DOI)

 

Structure Query

Click the Draw button in the search field, you have the option to draw the structure using CAS Draw or ChemDoodle.

CAS Draw Basics video

https://scifinder-n.cas.org/help/#t=Drawing_Search_Queries%2FChemDoodle_Basics_video.htm

ChemDoodle Basic video

https://scifinder-n.cas.org/help/#t=Drawing_Search_Queries%2FChemDoodle_Basics_video.htm

 

 

Structure Query Features

The following structure query features are also available in CAS Draw and ChemDoodle:

Reaction Query Features:

  • Specifying Reaction Roles: Specify the reaction roles of the structures by drawing a reaction arrow.
  • Marking Reaction Sites: Mark bonds that are changed (broken, formed, or change bond order) in the reaction.
  • Mapping Atom Pairs: Specify corresponding pairs of atoms present in the reactant and product.

 Substructure Query Features:

  • Variable Atom
  • R-group
  • Unspecified Bond Type
  • Repeating Group
  • Variable Attachment Points
  • Lock Atom
  • Lock Ring

 

Find Substances Using Search Terms

Search field - Substance name, CAS Registry Number, patent identifier, notes, and DOI.

Advanced Search Field(s) - Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT) + search field values, molecular formula, experimental spectra, and the following property categories: biological/chemical, density, electrical, Lipinski, magnetic, mechanical, optical and scattering, structure related, and thermal. Check the Search key property values only box available for the below properties to focus the property query only on data found in a substance's Key Physical Properties box or preferred substance values:

    • Median Lethal Dose (mg/kg)
    • Density (g/cm3)
    • Electric Conductance (S)
    • Electric Conductivity (S/cm)
    • Electric Resistance (ohm)
    • Electric Resistivity (ohm*cm)
    • Magnetic Moment (muB)
    • Tensile Strength (Mpa)
    • Optical Rotatory Power (degrees)
    • Refractive Index
    • Boiling Point (°C)
    • Glass Transition Temperature (°C)
    • Melting Point (°C)

Find Reactions

 

Find reactions that match your query, which can be substance names, CAS Registry Numbers, document identifiers, or a chemical structure.

If both search term and chemical structure queries are present, reactions will only match the chemical structure query (search term query is ignored). 

 

Find References

Search Terms:

Search field: Research Topic/Keyword/Concept, Substance Name, CAS Registry Number, notes, and document identifier.

Advanced Search Field(s): Boolean operator (AND, OR, NOT) + search field values, Author Name, Journal Name, Organization Name, Title, Publication Year, Document Identifier (CODEN, ISBN, and ISSN):

  • Find References by a Specific Author
  • Find References Using Author and Keywords
  • Find References Associated with a Company or Organization
  • Find a Reference Using Publication Information
  • Find References Using CODEN, Keyword, and Publication Year
  • Find Patent References by Assignee
  • Find Patent References by Inventor

Find References Using a Chemical Structure 

Search Terms and Chemical Structure

 

Find Biosequences

 

There are three biosequence search types:

BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool): Search for proteins as well as nucleotides using a set of local alignment algorithms (BLASTn, MegaBlast, BLASTp, tBLASTn, BLASTx).

CDR (Complementarity-Determining Region): Search for antibody and t-cell receptors.

Motif: Search for short patterns in DNA, RNA, or proteins with queries enabled for additional variability.

 

Creating a Retrosynthesis Plan

 

There are two ways to create a retrosynthesis plan for a substance in CAS SciFindern:

From the Home page with the Retrosynthesis search type

From a substance window

 

Academic Journal, Communication Skills, Research Ethics, Information Timeline for Materials

Select a type of source needed for a specific information need based on appropriateness.

Copyright and Disclaimer

This site contains links to third-party websites. These websites are provided only as a convenience to visitors and does not imply any endorsement of the linked sites by Nanyang Polytechnic. The linked sites are not under the control of Nanyang Polytechnic, and Nanyang Polytechnic is NOT responsible for the contents or communication of any linked site or any link contained in a link site.