Analytical Chemistry
by
With the 7th Edition of Analytical Chemistry renowned chemists, Purnendu (Sandy) Dasgupta and Kevin Schug, both of the University of Texas Arlington, join the author team. The new edition focuses on more in-depth coverage of the principles and techniques of quantitative analysis and instrumental analysis (aka Analytical Chemistry). The goal of the text is to provide a foundation of the analytical process, tools, and computational methods and resources, and to illustrate with problems that bring realism to the practice and importance of analytical chemistry. It is designed for undergraduate college students majoring in chemistry and in fields related to chemistry.
Analytical Chemistry for Technicians
by
Written as a training manual for chemistry-based laboratory technicians, this thoroughly updated fourth edition of the bestselling Analytical Chemistry for Technicians emphasizes the applied aspects rather than the theoretical ones. The book begins with classical quantitative analysis and follows with a practical approach to the complex world of sophisticated electronic instrumentation commonly used in real-world laboratories. Providing a foundation for the two key qualities--the analytical mindset and a basic understanding of the analytical instrumentation--this book helps prepare individuals for success on the job. Chapters cover sample preparation; gravimetric analysis; titrimetric analysis; instrumental analysis; spectrochemical methods, such as atomic spectroscopy and UV-Vis and IR molecular spectrometry; chromatographic techniques, including gas chromatography and high-performance liquid chromatography; electroanalytical methods; and more. Incorporating an additional ten years of teaching experience since the publication of the third edition, the author has made significant updates and enhancements to the fourth edition. More than 150 new photographs and either new or reworked drawings spanning every chapter to assist the visual learner A new chapter on mass spectrometry, covering GC-MS, LC-MS, LC-MS-MS, and ICP-MS Thirteen new laboratory experiments An introductory section before chapter 1 to give students a preview of general laboratory considerations, safety, laboratory notebooks, and instrumental analysis Additional end-of-chapter problems, expanded "report"-type questions, and inclusion of relevant section headings in the Questions and Problems sections Application Notes in each chapter An appendix providing a glossary of quality assurance and good laboratory practice (GLP) terms
Bioanalytical Chemistry
by
Interdisciplinary knowledge is becoming increasingly important to the modern scientist. This invaluable textbook covers bioanalytical chemistry (mainly the analysis of proteins and DNA) and explains everything for the non-biologist. Electrophoresis, mass spectrometry, biosensors, bioassays, DNA and protein sequencing are not necessarily all included in conventional analytical chemistry textbooks. The book describes the basic principles and the applications of instrumental and molecular methods. It is particularly useful to chemistry and engineering students who already have some basic knowledge about analytical chemistry. This revised second edition contains a new chapter on optical spectroscopy, and updated methods and new references throughout.Andreas Manz received the 2015 Inventor Award for 'Lifetime Achievement' from the European Patent Office.Petra S Dittrich was presented with the Heinrich-Emanuel-Merck Award 2015 at EuroAnalysis2015 Conference.
Understanding Bioanalytical Chemistry
by
"The title captures the ethos and content precisely. It brings basic chemistry into real life with examples that illustrate how chemical principals are inherent to bioanalytical procedures, making them accessible to readers with a background in life sciences." -Microbiology Today, July 2009 "... a good overview of the basic strategies to tackle the complexity of analysis in biological environments and provides some illustrative examples for a better understanding of the theoretical concepts... provides a fundamental introduction to the tools adopted by life and health scientists in the evolving and exciting new age of "omics" specifically applied to the diagnosis, treatment, cure and prevention of disease..." -Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry, October 2009 Although chemistry is core to the life and health sciences, it is often viewed as a challenging subject. Conventional textbooks tend to present chemistry in a way that is not always easily accessible to students, particularly those coming from diverse educational backgrounds, who may not have formally studied chemistry before. This prompted the authors to write this particular textbook, taking a new, fresh and innovative approach to teaching and learning of chemistry, focusing on bioanalysis to set knowledge in context. This textbook is primarily targeted to undergraduate life and health science students, but may be a useful resource for practising scientists in a range of disciplines. In this textbook the authors have covered basic principles, terminology and core technologies, which include key modern experimental techniques and equipment used to analyse important biomolecules in diagnostic, industrial and research settings. Written by two authors with a wealth of experience in teaching, research and academic enterprise, this textbook represents an invaluable tool for students and instructors across the diverse range of biological and health science courses. Key Features: Innovative, stand alone teaching and learning resource to enhance delivery of undergraduate chemistry provision to life and health scientists. Develops student knowledge and understanding of core concepts with reference to relevant, real-life, examples. Clearly written and user-friendly, with numerous full colour illustrations, annotated images, diagrams and tables to enhance learning. Incorporates a modern approach to teaching and learning to motivate the reader and encourage student-centred learning. Dr Victor Gault has been named recipient of the Rising Star Award 2009 by the internationally acclaimed European Association for the Study of Diabetes (EASD).
Green Chemistry for Beginners
by
With escalating concerns over the current state of our planet, the realization to work toward reducing our environmental footprint is gaining momentum. Scientists have realized that green chemistry is the key to reduce waste, rendering healthy environment, and improving human health. The 12 principles of green chemistry are the basic tenets that require understanding at the most fundamental level and implementation to promoting sustainable synthesis. This book discusses innovations in the form of greener technologies (superior green catalysts, alternate reaction media, and green energy sources) and elaborates their tremendous potential in combating the critical global challenges on the horizon. It intends to empower and educate students to grasp the key concepts of green chemistry, think out of the box and come up with new ideas, and apply the basic concepts in greening the world. It extensively covers the goals of the United Nation's 2030 Agenda of Sustainable Development, which can be successfully achieved with the aid of green chemistry. It also highlights cutting-edge greener technologies such as biomimicry, miniaturization, and continuous flow. Edited by two active green chemists, the book presents in-depth knowledge of this field and is extremely helpful for undergraduate, graduate, and postgraduate readers, as well as academic and industrial researchers.
Biochemistry
by
Biochemistry: The Chemical Reactions of Living Cells is a well-integrated, up-to-date reference for basic chemistry and underlying biological phenomena. Biochemistry is a comprehensive account of the chemical basis of life, describing the amazingly complex structures of the compounds that make up cells, the forces that hold them together, and the chemical reactions that allow for recognition, signaling, and movement. This book contains information on the human body, its genome, and the action of muscles, eyes, and the brain.
Biochemistry
by
Biochemistry is a single-semester text designed for undergraduate non-biochemistry majors. Accessible, engaging, and informative, Biochemistry is the perfect introduction to the subject for students who may approach chemistry with apprehension. Biochemistry's unique emphasis on metabolism and its kinetic underpinnings gives the text up-to-the-minute relevance for students investigating current public health concerns such as obesity and diabetes. Biochemistry will encourage students to explore the basics of chemistry and its influence on biological problems. Biochemistry provides students with a broad understanding of contemporary advances in molecular biology. Its innovative approach will challenge students to develop connections across multiple concepts, and sets Biochemistry apart in a crowded field. Biochemistry is an invaluable and user-friendly resource. This innovative text for non-biochemistry majors includes: * Introductory material at the beginning of each chapter that contextualizes chapter themes in real-life scenarios * Clear list of objectives for each chapter * Online supporting materials with further opportunities for research and investigation * Synthesis questions at the end of each chapter that encourage students to make connections between concepts and ideas, as well as develop critical-thinking skills
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering for Sustainable Development
by
The world faces significant challenges as population and consumption continue to grow while non-renewable fossil fuels and other raw materials are depleted at ever-increasing rates. Chemistry and Chemical Engineering for Sustainable Development: Best Practices and Research Directionsis a technical approach that addresses these issues using green design and analysis. It brings together innovative research, new concepts, and novel developments in the application of new tools for chemical and materials engineers. It is an immensely research-oriented, comprehensive, and practical work focusing on the use of applied concepts to enhance the current trends and productivity in chemical engineering. It contains significant research, reporting new methodologies and important applications in the fields of chemical engineering as well as the latest coverage of chemical databases and the development of new methods and efficient approaches for chemists.
Physical Chemistry
by
Physical Chemistry: A Problem Solving Approach covers a broad spectrum of topics for undergraduate. Units and dimension, mutual conversion of units and basic mathematical formula required to handle the problems are discussed in the first chapter followed by problems related to different states of matter (gas, liquid and solid), thermodynamics and its applications, thermochemistry, chemical equilibrium, colligative properties of dilute solutions, electrochemistry, chemical kinetics, photochemistry and spectroscopy.
This site contains links to third-party websites. These websites are provided only as a convenience to visitors and does not imply any endorsement of the linked sites by Nanyang Polytechnic. The linked sites are not under the control of Nanyang Polytechnic, and Nanyang Polytechnic is NOT responsible for the contents or communication of any linked site or any link contained in a link site.
