eBooks/Books- Health & Fitness
ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness and Health by
Here is the ultimate resource for maximizing your exercise and nutrition efforts. In this new edition of ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness & Health, you have an authoritative reference that allows you to apply research-based guidance to your unique health and fitness needs. With a focus across the life span, this resource shows you how to pursue optimal health and fitness now and throughout the years to come. The American College of Sports Medicine, the largest and most respected sport science and medicine organization in the world, has created this book to bridge the gap between science and the practice of making personal lifestyle choices that promote health. This new edition contains age-specific advice within the framework of the latest research, thus helping you to avoid the lure of fads, unfounded myths, and misinformation. You will learn these strategies: * Incorporate the latest guidelines for physical activity and nutrition into your daily routine to improve your fitness and overall health. * Optimize your weight and increase strength, flexibility, aerobic fitness, and functional fitness. * Improve health and manage conditions such as diabetes, cardiovascular disease, cancer, depression, osteoporosis, arthritis, pregnancy, and Alzheimer's disease through exercise and nutrition. * Monitor, evaluate, and tailor your exercise program for optimal results. Featuring step-by-step instructions and full-color photos for the most effective exercises, sample workouts, practical advice, age-specific physical activity and dietary guidelines, and strategies for incorporating exercise and healthy nutrition choices into even the busiest of lifestyles, ACSM's Complete Guide to Fitness & Health is a resource that belongs in every fitness enthusiast's library.
Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Health by
Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Health includes applied content and research-based guidelines to help students distinguish between nutrition recommendations backed by science and the plethora of misinformation available in the field. This comprehensive resource blends nutrition and exercise science with practical information to provide a clear understanding of how nutrition affects sports, exercise, and overall health. Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Health covers the basics of nutrition, including the functions of and daily allowances for carbohydrate, fat, and protein, as well as micronutrient recommendations; the importance of hydration and electrolyte balance; nutrition in health and disease prevention; population-based nutrition considerations for training and sports; and practical information on measuring and altering body composition. The accessible presentation of material keeps students from getting too bogged down in research, and the text offers real-world applications. Students will also discover career opportunities available to them, including qualifications and job responsibilities for each position. The full-color text includes more than 70 photos and more than 140 illustrations alongside digestible, engaging writing. Concepts are presented in a user-friendly manner, and each chapter includes a number of features that enhance understanding: * Chapter objectives provide a roadmap to ease students into upcoming content. * Key terms help students focus on important vocabulary. The key terms are identified at the beginning of the chapter, appear in boldface within the chapter, and are included within the glossary, where they are defined. * Putting It Into Perspective sidebars contain compact vignettes that help college students relate to the content and apply the concepts to their own lives. * Do You Know? sidebars are short callouts that provide key insights and easy takeaways for students. * Review questions help students identify areas they may need to revisit as well as reinforce key concepts. Content is organized in a logical sequence, with each chapter building upon the information previously presented. In part I, the reader is provided with an overview of the role nutrition plays in overall well-being throughout a person's life. Part II focuses on each macronutrient and its role in health and disease, as well as dietary recommendations that support health and an active lifestyle. The role of micronutrients in health and performance is covered in part III. Part IV provides information on the application of nutrition to sport, exercise, and health. Instructors will find a full suite of ancillaries that will be helpful in their teaching. The instructor guide and presentation package plus image bank will help in preparing for class, while the test package and chapter quizzes will help assess student learning. Students and professionals alike will benefit from the broad coverage found in Nutrition for Sport, Exercise, and Health. Armed with accessible, research-based application, readers will have the tools they need to improve athletic performance, exercise outcomes, and general well-being.
Push by
Let Chalene Johnson turbocharge your habits, your diet, and your life with the updated edition of PUSH. With a brand new chapter, PUSH distills Charlene's hard-earned wisdom and expertise into a totally unique 30-day system that will help you reset your priorities, develop new habits, and lose weight for good. Chalene gives you the life-changing tools you need to change your habits with 30 days of practical steps that include pinpointing goals, reverse-engineering a course of action to achieve them, and kicking the clutter--whether that means junk food, draining exercise regimens, or toxic relationships. In one month, you will learn how to create layers of accountability and support so that success is your only option. PUSH also includes 30 ridiculously easy and delicious Throw-and-Go Recipes that Chalene (a self-confessed mess in the kitchen) created herself. And, of course, no book from Charlene is complete without her Bangin' Body Workout- the key moves you need for total body fitness--for life!
[E-Book] Physical Activity by
Physical activity and its relationship to health is one of the great issues of our age. The causes of, and solutions to, physical inactivity are complex and multi-dimensional, and therefore the subject needs to be studied and understood from a variety of perspectives. This is the first textbook to provide a truly multi-disciplinary introduction to physical activity studies. Offering a complete foundation to the subject, it covers the basics of every core discipline from biochemistry, public health and biomechanics to physiology, sport psychology and sociology. It introduces a full range of topics across the physical activity curriculum, including behaviour change, motor skill development, nutrition, exercise prescription, public health policy, and physical education, providing a well-balanced and international perspective on each important issue. There is also a strong emphasis throughout the book on the practical, applied dimensions of physical activity, including innovative approaches to promotion and intervention tailored to every age range and environment. Physical Activity: A Multi-disciplinary Introduction is an indispensable companion to any course or degree programme with an emphasis on physical activity and health. A variety of exclusive eResources to aid teaching and learning are also available via the Routledge website.
eBooks- Stress Management
[E-Book] Anxiety Relief for Teens by
Is anxiety disrupting your life? With proven CBT-based skills and mindfulness techniques, this book can be your guide out of the spiraling stress of anxiety and get you back on track to living a happy and healthy life. Getting good grades, keeping up with social media, maintaining friendships... you have a lot on your plate and it's more difficult when you add anxiety to the mix. You may even be avoiding situations, events, or people that could trigger your anxiety. So, how do you stop yourself from missing out on life? With Anxiety Relief for Teens, Dr. Regine Galanti teaches you how CBT-based skills and mindfulness techniques can help you manage your anxiety and reverse negative patterns. Through simple and effective exercises that help you change your thoughts, behaviors, and physical reactions, this helpful guide gives you the tools you need to navigate all of life's challenges. Anxiety Relief for Teens features: * Quizzes and self-assessments to better understand your anxiety and emotions and discover their respective triggers. * 30+ CBT-based tools to manage your anxiety along with practical strategies for dealing with challenging emotions such as anger and sadness. * 30+ mindfulness practices to cope with your anxiety in the present moment through visualizations, breathing, meditation, and other exercises.
[E-Book] Smarter, Sharper Thinking by
Boost your brain and gain an edge in everything you do. Smarter Sharper Thinking reveals how you can expand your brain's capability to think well under stress, to focus and get more out of your day, to be more creative and innovative, and to prepare you for future challenges. Utilising the latest neuro-scientific principles, Dr Jenny Brockis shows how you can increase your brain fitness by developing a habit-changing plan to get more done with less effort. In 12 key areas, Smarter Sharper Thinking presents simple, action-based principles that can be readily incorporated into your daily routines to train your brain for high performance. Originally published in 2016 as Future Brain, this book has been reviewed and redesigned to become part of the Wiley Be Your Best series - aimed at helping readers acheive professional and personal success.
[E-Book] The Anxiety, Depression & Anger Toolbox for Teens by
This new mood management toolbox brings together the powers of mindfulness, CBT, and positive psychology for teens to take control of their distressing thoughts and over-the-top emotions. With over 30 years of clinical experience, Dr. Jeffrey Bernstein shares high-impact tools for teens' biggest demands -- school, social connections, body-image, and family dynamics. Inside you'll find 150 downloadable activities and worksheets to take control of: -Confidence and self-esteem -Overwhelming assignments -Schedule demands -Friend drama and pressure -Body-image struggles -Test anxiety -Self-sabotaging behaviors -Family frustration and conflicts
[E-Book] The PTSD Survival Guide for Teens by
Your trauma doesn't need to define you. In The PTSD Survival Guide for Teens, trauma specialist Sheela Raja--along with her teen daughter Jaya Ashrafi--offers evidence-based skills to help you find strength, confidence, and resilience in the aftermath of trauma. If you've experienced trauma or suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), the world can seem like a very frightening place. You may even question your own deeply held beliefs, as well as the motives of others. It's important for you to know that you aren't alone, and there isn't anything wrong with you. Many teens have suffered traumatic events, and there are solid skills you can learn that will help you recover. So, how can you begin healing and start building the life you were always meant to lead? In this compassionate guide, you'll find skills based in cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT), dialectical behavior therapy (DBT), and acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to help you tackle anxiety and harmful avoidance behaviors; manage negative emotions; cope with flashbacks and nightmares; and develop trusting, healthy relationships--even if your trust in others has been shaken to the core. You'll also learn more about the diagnosis and symptoms of PTSD and understand what kind of help is available to you. Whether you've been diagnosed with PTSD or are simply living with the aftereffects of a traumatic event, you shouldn't have to suffer alone. This book will help you to find strength within so you can move forward. This book has been selected as an Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies Self-Help Book Recommendation--an honor bestowed on outstanding self-help books that are consistent with cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) principles and that incorporate scientifically tested strategies for overcoming mental health difficulties. Used alone or in conjunction with therapy, our books offer powerful tools readers can use to jump-start changes in their lives.
[E-Book] When You're Not OK : A Toolkit for Tough Times by
This is a self-care manual for the days when you feel alone -- the days when you worry that you're too weird or broken or unfixable to be normal. With compassion, humour, and honesty, Jill offers signposts to help you find the path back to yourself. Whether you're having a bad day, or a run of bad days that seem never-ending
eBooks- Work From Home
[E-Book] Working from Home for Dummies by
Your essential guide to working from home and staying connected In today's networked global economy, working from home is no longer a novelty. In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, companies and organizations everywhere are embracing the game-changing benefits of allowing employees to work outside the office, and the results are profound: managers benefit by saving money and resources and by having access to talent outside their zip codes, while employees enjoy greater job opportunities, productivity, independence, and satisfaction--in part from the time saved not commuting. According to one source, 85% of businesses say that productivity increased along with greater flexibility--and 90% of employees say that flexibility boosted their morale. Working From Home For Dummies, gathers the expertise of multiple industry experts, featuring best of the best content from Virtual Teams For Dummies, Managing For Dummies, 3E, Company Culture For Dummies, Zoom For Dummies, Microsoft Teams For Dummies, Slack For Dummies, Mindfulness For Dummies, 3E, and Stretching For Dummies, as well as new material from award-winning author Tara Powers on setting expectations and boundaries, and more. Set up your workspace Stay connected to your team Run productive online meetings Get in the right headspace This book is the full guide on how to successfully work with virtual teams, whether you are a team member or a manager.
NYP/PSD Resources
eBooks/Books- Mindfulness
Living Mindfully by
Written by a practitioner with over 25 years of experience, Living Mindfully shows how mindfulness can be integrated with coaching in order to enhance motivation and achieve an authentic life. Combines mindfulness techniques designed to explore an individual's relationships to thoughts, values and emotions with coaching strategies that build self-confidence and motivation Details the Living Mindfully program and the practical coaching intervention, Training Individuals in Mindfulness and Excellence (TIME), with tips, exercises, further resources and client testimonials Discusses important aspects of mindfulness, including awareness, staying present, acceptance, authenticity, and dealing with negative beliefs and emotions Outlines the requirements for setting up and maintaining a mindfulness program for mindfulness teachers, coaches, counselors, policymakers, and government departments
The mind workout by
The Mind Workout is the key to making the switch from a frenetic, anxiety-driven life to one that's based on your core values. It will leave you feeling mentally stronger, fitter, and better equipped to navigate the complexities of everyday life.
[E-Book] An Artful Path to Mindfulness by
An innovative, creative approach to help you break free from the fear and uncertainty that stand in the way of genuine happiness. When you look at your life, do you feel it's working just the way it is? Or do you feel overwhelmed, stressed, depressed, and uneasy? So many of us are stuck in a pattern of living reactively rather than proactively, and feel exhausted and uncreative as a result. Fortunately, there is another way. It requires stepping off the fast track, and no longer going through your days on "autopilot." It requires slowing down and tuning in to the present moment and seeing things as they really are. Mindfulness-based self-expression (MBSE), offers a way off the fast track. Drawing on mindfulness-based stress reduction (MBSR), MBSE fuses art exploration--including drawing, mark-making, and creative self-expression--with meditations, gentle yoga, breathwork, and body scans. These daily practices are designed to help you cultivate a mindset of awareness, patience, trust, acceptance, and vulnerability. This unique workbook invites you to draw, tear, mark, play, and take risks. There is no plan, no goal, and no preconceived idea to follow. The process is simply communicating to yourself who you are in this moment, following the thread one mark at a time. The book also serves as a journal for recording your curiosity, vulnerability, and creativity. When completed, it becomes an artistic expression of life as you celebrate the profound gift that is now. Tapping into our creative self-expression empowers us to be who we are in the world, to come into deeper contact with our authentic selves, and build the self-confidence needed to take risks. The Artful Path to Mindfulness will help you find your own creative heart, and use it as a tool for living a joyful and fulfilling life.
[E-Book] Habit Swap by
Daily practices to help you replace unhealthy habits with conscious, healthy choices All of us have a harmful habit we'd like to change--whether it's unhealthy eating, excessive drinking or shopping, procrastination, compulsively checking email and texting, TV bingeing, worrying, stressful thinking, 'busyness,' impatience, or even aggressive driving. But no matter what your bad habit is, you have the power to change it. From the author of the highly successful The Here-and-Now Habit, this practical guide offers everyday mindful practices for replacing unhealthy habits with healthier ones. With this book, you'll learn to break free from stubborn behaviors, and discover the freedom and peace that come with living mindfully. You'll also learn how to develop resilience; manage the difficult emotions that lie at the root of your bad habits; and cultivate acceptance, kindness, and curiosity. Once you are aware of the emotions that drive your bad habits, you'll feel empowered to make wise and beneficial choices that enhance your well-being. This go-to guide will help you, every step of the way.
[E-Book] Mindful Listening (HBR Emotional Intelligence Series) by
Become a mindful listener at work. Listening is a critical skill that leaders and managers often take for granted. By learning to listen mindfully, you can keep your employees more engaged, foster the discovery of new ideas, and hear what you need to hear in a discussion rather than what you expect to hear. The book will teach you what great listeners do, how to stay fully present in challenging conversations, and how empathic listening can help others learn and grow. This volume includes the work of: Peter Bregman Jack Zenger and Joseph Folkman Rasmus Hougaard and Jacqueline Carter Amy Jen Su and Muriel Maignan Wilkins How to be human at work. The HBR Emotional Intelligence Series features smart, essential reading on the human side of professional life from the pages of Harvard Business Review. Each book in the series offers proven research showing how our emotions impact our work lives, practical advice for managing difficult people and situations, and inspiring essays on what it means to tend to our emotional well-being at work. Uplifting and practical, these books describe the social skills that are critical for ambitious professionals to master.
[E-Book] Mindfulness in a busy world: lowering barriers for adults and youth to cultivate focus, emotional peace, and gratefulness by
Mindfulness in a Busy World offers a bridge between the ancient wisdom of Eastern mindfulness teachings and the busy Western lifestyle of the tech era where an increasing number of people experience stress, anxiety, impatience, and an inability to be present in meaningful interactions.
[E-Book] Nutrition, Fitness, and Mindfulness : An Evidence-Based Guide for Clinicians by
This comprehensive volume presents an approach based on cutting edge clinical science to the integration of healthy behaviors in clinical practice, using three major categories; healthy eating, active living, and mindfulness.
[E-Book] Progress over Perfection : A Guide to Mindful Productivity by
Emma Norris guides you in setting purposeful plans that are right for you and nurturing a healthier approach to prioritizing, so you can live a more value-based life.
eBooks- Social Connection
[E-Book] Chicken Soup for the Soul: Think Positive, Live Happy by
These 101 true stories will inspire you to think positive to live a happier life. Everyone can use a little more positive thinking--to create an even better life. Your attitude is a powerful tool, and these stories from real people show you how to think yourself into a more fulfilling, happier life. As co-author Deborah Norville says, "Change your thoughts and you'll change your world. Sometimes you need an example to follow, a how-to that works for you. These stories can help you do just that." In this collection, you'll read stories about: making every day count through mindfulness and thankfulness trying new things and stepping outside your comfort zone simple phrases that could change your life turning lemons to lemonade and finding the silver lining in every situation finding your inner strength and turning adversity into opportunity counting your blessings and using the power of gratitude rebooting your life and living with passion and purpose how volunteering and making a difference can turn your life around strategies that work for bringing joy back into your life techniques for managing cancer and other health challenges
[E-Book] Positive Thinking Pocketbook by
Think your way to a more positive life Positive thinking is an approach and a set of skills that we can all learn. But it's not just about how and what you think; you've got to do something! In a range of situations, positive thinking needs to be followed by positive action. The good news is that whatever life has thrown at you in the past and whatever is you want to achieve in the future, the Positive Thinking Pocketbook will help you think and behave more positively. Inside, you'll find out how to use tips, techniques and advice on creating a positive mindset and developing your positive thinking. Next, you'll find out how to apply that positive thinking to a range of potentially difficult situations. Little approachable exercises make it easy to get started Full of scenarios, ideas, advice, tips and techniques Learn how to overcome negative thinking, get motivated and stay motivated Discover how to make positive thinking a habit Whenever you want a shot of positivity, simply pick out a few ideas, tips and techniques that appeal to you and give them a try!
[E-Book] The Art of Captivating Conversation by
The Art of Captivating Conversation is a book for enhancing social skills and developing conversation starters.
Resource Guides
