Engineering Chemistry
by
This textbook is primarily intended for undergraduate students within all disciplines of engineering and technology. It introduces the fundamental concepts in a simple, comprehensive and illustrative manner. The book provides a core course of engineering chemistry.Each chapter starts with a brief introduction, history of the topic followed by meticulous discussions on each topic and practice zone containing solved numerical problems, unsolved numerical problems and questions from examinations. Most of the topics include latest information and includes 394 diagrams, 58 tables and more than 100 solved numerical problems.
General, Organic, & Biological Chemistry
by
This text is different--by design. By relating fundamental concepts of general, organic, and biological chemistry to the everyday world, Jan Smith effectively engages students with bulleted lists, extensive illustrations, and step-by-step problem solving. Smith writes with an approach that delivers need-to-know information in a succinct style for today’s students. Armed with an excellent illustration program full of macro-to-micro art, as well as many applications to biological, medical, consumer, and environmental topics, this book is a powerhouse of learning for students.
Pharmaceutical Analysis
by
Pharmaceutical analysis forms a core part of any pharmacy programme, as well as being essential for pharmacology and medicinal chemistry courses. Pharmaceutical analysis determines the purity, concentration, active compounds, shelf life, rate of absorption in the body, identity, stability, rate of release etc. of a drug. Testing a pharmaceutical product involves a variety of analyses, and the analytical processes described in this book are used in industries as diverse as food, beverages, cosmetics, detergents, metals, paints, water, agrochemicals, biotechnological products and pharmaceuticals. The mathematics involved is notoriously difficult, but this much-praised textbook, now revised and updated for its fourth edition, guides a student through the complexities with clear writing and the author's expertise from many years' teaching pharmacy students. There is continuous learning reinforcement throughout the book by way of worked calculation examples and self-assessment test questions. Worked calculation examples Self-assessment Additional problems (self tests) Practical boxes Key points boxes New chapter on electrochemical biosensors. New chapter on the quality control of biotechnologically produced drugs. Extended chapter on molecular emission spectroscopy. Now comes with an e-book on StudentConsult. Self-assessment is interactive in the accompanying online e-book. 65 online animations show concepts such as ionization partitioning of drug molecules etc. ~
Textbook of Organic Chemistry
by
Textbook of Organic Chemistry is meant for students who learn organic chemistry at the undergraduate level and who have already had exposure to the basics of chemistry, including an introduction to organic chemistry. This book conforms to the syllabus of Indian Universities at the undergraduate level, but can be useful to students at a more advanced level also. The book has a deductive approach and reduces the need to learn by rote. The objectives are listed at the beginning of every chapter which gives the student an overview of the chapter. Each chapter has been structured in a logical and interesting manner that facilitates easy reading and understanding. This approach has been developed and perfected by the author over the course of his tenure as a teacher of organic chemistry. At the end of each chapter, exercises are provided which strengthen the students' understanding of the concepts discussed in the text. 'Challenging Questions' are given for those students who want to delve deeper into the subject. Topics of current interest that are related to the subject matter of the chapter are suggested for preparing project reports.
A textbook on chemistry practical
by
Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
by
KEY BENEFIT: Active learning, an increased focus on clinical examples, updates based on current teaching and research findings, and digital innovations designed to engage and personalize readers' experience make Fundamentals of General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry simply the best choice for readers with a future in allied health. With the Eighth Edition, the authors make learning chemistry a more active experience through features designed to get readers doing chemistry. Every chapter features Hands on Chemistry sections that deepen readers' understanding of chemistry by having them perform elementary experiments with everyday household items. Group Problemsat the end of every chapter are designed for in-class use and motivate readers to carefully think about higher-level problems, such as how concepts fit together and how to apply these concepts in a clinical application. All of the chapter openers, including many of the Chemistry in Action boxes and end-of-chapter problems, have been rewritten for a stronger clinical focus that provides more relevance to allied health majors. All content has been updated for the modern classroom with special attention to the biochemistry chapters, making the Eighth Edition of Fundamentals of General, Organic and Biological Chemistry the best choice for future allied health readers. This edition is fully integrated with MasteringChemistry to provide an interactive and engaging experience. Media resources include narrated Video Tutor Solutions for every book chapter that present how to work the most challenging problems and feature additional feedback and instruction from contributor Sara Madsen. NEW in MasteringChemistry is the Chemistry Primer, a diagnostic and remediation tool that provides pre-built assignments designed to get readers up to speed on Chemistry and Math skills at the beginning of the course so they come to class prepared to delve more deeply into topics. KEY TOPICS: Matter and Measurements; Atoms and the Periodic Table; Ionic Compounds; Molecular Compounds; Classification and Balancing of Chemical Reactions; Chemical Reactions: Mole and Mass Relationships; Chemical Reactions: Energy, Rates, and Equilibrium; Gases, Liquids, and Solids; Solutions; Acids and Bases; Nuclear Chemistry; Introduction to Organic Chemistry: Alkanes; Alkenes, Alkynes, and Aromatic Compounds; Some Compounds with Oxygen, Sulfur, or a Halogen; Amines; Aldehydes and Ketones; Carboxylic Acids and their Derivatives; Amino Acids and Proteins; Enzymes and Vitamins; Carbohydrates; The Generation of Biochemical Energy; Carbohydrate Metabolism; Lipids; Lipid Metabolism; Protein and Amino Acid Metabolism; Nucleic Acids and Protein Synthesis; Genomics; Chemical Messengers: Hormones, Neurotransmitters, and Drugs; Body Fluids MARKET: For anyone interested in Chemistry.
Organic Chemistry
by
Master organic chemistry with the help of this proven best-seller! John McMurry's ORGANIC CHEMISTRY is consistently praised as the most clearly written book available for the course. In John McMurry's words: "I wrote this book because I love writing. I get great pleasure and satisfaction from taking a complicated subject, turning it around until I see it clearly from a new angle, and then explaining it in simple words." Through his lucid writing and ability to show the beauty and logic of organic chemistry, McMurry makes learning enjoyable. The highest compliment that can be given to a chemistry book applies to McMurry: It works!
A Small Scale Approach to Organic Laboratory Techniques
by
Featuring new experiments, a new essay, and new coverage of nanotechnology, this organic chemistry laboratory textbook offers a comprehensive treatment of laboratory techniques including small scale and some microscale methods that use standard-scale ("macroscale") glassware and equipment. The book is organized based on essays and topics of current interest and covers a large number of traditional organic reactions and syntheses, as well as experiments with a biological or health science focus. Seven introductory technique-based experiments, thirteen project-based experiments, and sections on green chemistry and biofuels spark students' interest and engage them in the learning process. Instructors may choose to offer Cengage Learning's optional Premium Website, which contains videos on basic organic laboratory techniques.
Essentials of Inorganic Chemistry
by
A comprehensive introduction to inorganic chemistry and, specifically, the science of metal-based drugs, Essentials of Inorganic Chemistry describes the basics of inorganic chemistry, including organometallic chemistry and radiochemistry, from a pharmaceutical perspective. Written for students of pharmacy and pharmacology, pharmaceutical sciences, medicinal chemistry and other health-care related subjects, this accessible text introduces chemical principles with relevant pharmaceutical examples rather than as stand-alone concepts, allowing students to see the relevance of this subject for their future professions. It includes exercises and case studies.
Inorganic Chemistry
by
This new textbook brings a fresh and exciting approach to teaching modern inorganic chemistry. It includes many worked examples, taking the student through each calculation or exercise step-by-step.
Principles of Inorganic Chemistry
by
Aimed at senior undergraduates and first-year graduate students, this book offers a principles-based approach to inorganic chemistry that, unlike other texts, uses chemical applications of group theory and molecular orbital theory throughout as an underlying framework. This highly physical approach allows students to derive the greatest benefit of topics such as molecular orbital acid-base theory, band theory of solids, and inorganic photochemistry, to name a few. Takes a principles-based, group and molecular orbital theory approach to inorganic chemistry The first inorganic chemistry textbook to provide a thorough treatment of group theory, a topic usually relegated to only one or two chapters of texts, giving it only a cursory overview Covers atomic and molecular term symbols, symmetry coordinates in vibrational spectroscopy using the projection operator method, polyatomic MO theory, band theory, and Tanabe-Sugano diagrams Includes a heavy dose of group theory in the primary inorganic textbook, most of the pedagogical benefits of integration and reinforcement of this material in the treatment of other topics, such as frontier MO acid--base theory, band theory of solids, inorganic photochemistry, the Jahn-Teller effect, and Wade's rules are fully realized Very physical in nature compare to other textbooks in the field, taking the time to go through mathematical derivations and to compare and contrast different theories of bonding in order to allow for a more rigorous treatment of their application to molecular structure, bonding, and spectroscopy Informal and engaging writing style; worked examples throughout the text; unanswered problems in every chapter; contains a generous use of informative, colorful illustrations
Sustainable Inorganic Chemistry
by
The Earth's natural resources are finite and easily compromised by contamination from industrial chemicals and byproducts from the degradation of consumer products. The growing field of green and sustainable chemistry seeks to address this through the development of products and processes that are environmentally benign while remaining economically viable. Inorganic chemistry plays a critical role in this endeavor in areas such as resource extraction and isolation, renewable energy, catalytic processes, waste minimization and avoidance, and renewable industrial feedstocks. Sustainable Inorganic Chemistry presents a comprehensive overview of the many new developments taking place in this rapidly expanding field, in articles that discuss fundamental concepts alongside cutting-edge developments and applications. The volume includes educational reviews from leading scientists on a broad range of topics including: inorganic resources, sustainable synthetic methods, alternative reaction conditions, heterogeneous catalysis, photocatalysis, sustainable nanomaterials, renewable and clean fuels, water treatment and remediation, waste valorization and life cycle sustainability assessment. The content from this book will be added online to the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry.
The Algebra of Organic Synthesis
by
The Algebra of Organic Synthesis combines the aims, philosophies, and efforts involved in organic synthesis, reaction optimization, and green chemistry with techniques for determining quantitatively just how "green" synthesis plans are. It provides the first complete quantitative description of synthesis strategy analysis in the context of green chemistry and reaction optimization. Providing what is perhaps the first complete description of synthesis strategy analysis, this book: Explores quantitative material efficiency for synthesizing molecules, including 1,000+ worked out synthesis plans to important target molecules Explains, in simple language, the most useful ideas in graph theory that have direct application in organic synthesis Reinforces the value of simple mathematical analysis in organic synthesis to help any synthetics or process chemist understand presented ideas and apply them to their own work Illustrates concepts with example target plans to classical targets that are considered milestones in synthetic chemistry, from pharmaceuticals, industrial commodity chemicals, dyestuffs, agrichemicals, flavorings, natural products, and molecules of theoretical interest The accompanying additional resources include a reproduction of the tables in the book, with direct electronic links to files for all plans. Files contain a list of references for each plan, including secondary references for the synthesis of starting materials if applicable. Ancillary materials also include a complete synthesis scheme with fully balanced chemical equations, a synthesis tree, a summary of green metrics parameters, a target bond map and list of reagents that end up in the target molecule, and a series of graphs that offer a visual depiction of the plan performance.
Arrow-Pushing in Organic Chemistry
by
Access to this ebook via NLB eResources page or NLB Mobile app. To login and access, please register as an NLB member.
Organic chemistry is required coursework for degrees in life, food, and medical sciences. To help the students discouraged by the belief that this topic cannot be mastered without significant memorization, Arrow Pushing in Organic Chemistry serves as a handy supplement for understanding the subject. * Includes new chapters, an expanded index, and additional problem sets complete with detailed solutions * Focuses on understanding the mechanics and logic of organic reaction mechanisms * Introduces ionic and non-ionic reactive species and reaction mechanisms * Teaches strategies to predict reactive species, sites of reactions, and reaction products * Provides a solid foundation upon which organic chemistry students can advance with confidence
Biophysico-Chemical Processes of Anthropogenic Organic Compounds in Environmental Systems
by
In contrast to the classical books which largely focus on separate, individual physicochemical and biological aspects, this book aims to integrate the frontiers of knowledge on the fundamentals and the impact of physicochemical and biological interactions and processes of AOCs in soil, sediment, water and air. The specific objectives of this book are to address: (1) fundamental biophysico-chemical processes of AOCs in the environment, (2) occurrence and distribution of AOCs in air, water, and soil, and their global cycling, (3) the state-of-the-art analytical techniques of AOCs, and (4) restoration of natural environments contaminated by AOCs. The book also identifies the gaps in knowledge on the subject matter and as such provides future directions to stimulate scientific research to advance the chemical science on biophysico-chemical interfacial reactions in natural habitats. By virtue of complex nature of the interactions of AOCs with different environmental components and matrixes, no single available technique and instrument is satisfactory yet for determining their fate, transport, availability, and risk in the environment. In order to fully understand the biophysico-chemical interactions and processes of AOCs in the environment, it is critical to know chemical, physical and biological properties of AOCs and their analytical techniques. The book is unique because of its multidisciplinary approach as it provides a comprehensive and integrated coverage of biophysico-chemical reactions and processes of AOCs in various environments, associated analytical techniques, and restoration of natural environments contaminated by AOCs.
Copper Catalysis in Organic Synthesis
by
The most current information on growing field of copper catalysis Copper Catalysis in Organic Synthesis contains an up-to-date overview of the most important reactions in the presence of copper catalysts. The contributors--noted experts on the topic--provide an introduction to the field of copper catalysis, reviewing its development, scope, and limitations, as well as providing descriptions of various homo- and cross-coupling reactions. In addition, information is presented on copper-catalyzed C-H activation, amination, carbonylation, trifluoromethylation, cyanation, and click reactions. Comprehensive in scope, the book also describes microwave-assisted and multi-component transformations as well as copper-catalyzed reactions in green solvents and continuous flow reactors. The authors highlight the application of copper catalysis in asymmetric synthesis and total synthesis of natural products and heterocycles as well as nanocatalysis. This important book: Examines copper and its use in organic synthesis as a more cost-effective and sustainable for researchers in academia and industry Offers the first up-to-date book to explore copper as a first line catalyst for many organic reactions Presents the most significant developments in the area, including cross-coupling reactions, C-H activation, asymmetric synthesis, and total synthesis of natural products and heterocycles Contains over 20 contributions from leaders in the field Written for catalytic chemists, organic chemists, natural products chemists, pharmaceutical chemists, and chemists in industry, Copper Catalysis in Organic Synthesis offers a book on the growing field of copper catalysis, covering cross-coupling reactions, C-H activation, and applications in the total synthesis of natural products.
Descriptive Inorganic, Coordination, and Solid State Chemistry
by
This proven book introduces the basics of coordination, solid-state, and descriptive main-group chemistry in a uniquely accessible manner, featuring a "less is more" approach. Consistent with the "less is more" philosophy, the book does not review topics covered in general chemistry, but rather moves directly into topics central to inorganic chemistry. Written in a conversational prose style that is enjoyable and easy to understand, this book presents not only the basic theories and methods of inorganic chemistry (in three self-standing sections), but also a great deal of the history and applications of the discipline. This edition features new art, more diversified applications, and a new icon system. And to better help readers understand how the seemingly disparate topics of the periodical table connect, the book offers revised coverage of the author's "Network of Interconnected Ideas" on new full color endpapers, as well as on a convenient tear-out card.
Diversity-Oriented Synthesis
by
Discover an enhanced synthetic approach to developing and screening chemical compound libraries Diversity-oriented synthesis is a new paradigm for developing large collections of structurally diverse small molecules as probes to investigate biological pathways. This book presents the most effective methods in diversity-oriented synthesis for creating small molecule collections. It offers tested and proven strategies for developing diversity-oriented synthetic libraries and screening methods for identifying ligands. Lastly, it explores some promising new applications based on diversity-oriented synthesis that have the potential to dramatically advance studies in drug discovery and chemical biology. Diversity-Oriented Synthesis begins with an introductory chapter that explores the basics, including a discussion of the relationship between diversity-oriented synthesis and classic combinatorial chemistry. Divided into four parts, the book: Offers key chemical methods for the generation of small molecules using diversity-oriented principles, including peptidomimetics and macrocycles Expands on the concept of diversity-oriented synthesis by describing chemical libraries Provides modern approaches to screening diversity-oriented synthetic libraries, including high-throughput and high-content screening, small molecule microarrays, and smart screening assays Presents the applications of diversity-oriented synthetic libraries and small molecules in drug discovery and chemical biology, reporting the results of key studies and forecasting the role of diversity-oriented synthesis in future biomedical research This book has been written and edited by leading international experts in organic synthesis and its applications. Their contributions are based on a thorough review of the current literature as well as their own firsthand experience developing synthetic methods and applications. Clearly written and extensively referenced, Diversity-Oriented Synthesis introduces novices to this highly promising field of research and serves as a springboard for experts to advance their own research studies and develop new applications.
Inorganic Chemistry for Dummies
by
Access to this ebook via NLB eResources page or NLB Mobile app. To login and access, please register as an NLB member.
The easy way to get a grip on inorganic chemistry Inorganic chemistry can be an intimidating subject, but it doesn't have to be! Whether you're currently enrolled in an inorganic chemistry class or you have a background in chemistry and want to expand your knowledge, Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies is the approachable, hands-on guide you can trust for fast, easy learning. Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies features a thorough introduction to the study of the synthesis and behavior of inorganic and organometallic compounds. In plain English, it explains the principles of inorganic chemistry and includes worked-out problems to enhance your understanding of the key theories and concepts of the field. Presents information in an effective and straightforward manner Covers topics you'll encounter in a typical inorganic chemistry course Provides plain-English explanations of complicated concepts If you're pursuing a career as a nurse, doctor, or engineer or a lifelong learner looking to make sense of this fascinating subject, Inorganic Chemistry For Dummies is the quick and painless way to master inorganic chemistry.
Introduction to Chemicals from Biomass
by
Introduction to Chemicals from Biomass, Second Edition presents an overview of the use of biorenewable resources in the 21st century for the manufacture of chemical products, materials and energy. The book demonstrates that biomass is essentially a rich mixture of chemicals and materials and, as such, has a tremendous potential as feedstock for making a wide range of chemicals and materials with applications in industries from pharmaceuticals to furniture. Completely revised and updated to reflect recent developments, this new edition begins with an introduction to the biorefinery concept, followed by chapters addressing the various types of available biomass feedstocks, including waste, and the different pre-treatment and processing technologies being developed to turn these feedstocks into platform chemicals, polymers, materials and energy. The book concludes with a discussion on the policies and strategies being put in place for delivering the so-called Bioeconomy. Introduction to Chemicals from Biomass is a valuable resource for academics, industrial scientists and policy-makers working in the areas of industrial biotechnology, biorenewables, chemical engineering, fine and bulk chemical production, agriculture technologies, plant science, and energy and power generation. We need to reduce our dependence on fossil resources and increasingly derive all the chemicals we take for granted and use in our daily life from biomass - and we must make sure that we do this using green chemistry and sustainable technologies! For more information on the Wiley Series in Renewable Resources, visit www.wiley.com/go/rrs Topics covered include: * The biorefinery concept * Biomass feedstocks * Pre-treatment technologies * Platform molecules from renewable resources * Polymers from bio-based monomers * Biomaterials * Bio-based energy production Praise for the 1st edition: "Drawing on the expertise of the authors the book involves a degree of plant biology and chemical engineering, which illustrates the multidisciplinary nature of the topic beautifully" - Chemistry World
Introduction to Spectroscopy
by
Gain an understanding of the latest advances in spectroscopy with INTRODUCTION TO SPECTROSCOPY.This proven book provides a systematic introduction to spectra and basic theoretical concepts in spectroscopic methods and includes up-to-date spectra; a modern presentation of one-dimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy; an introduction to biological molecules in mass spectrometry; and coverage of modern techniques alongside DEPT, COSY, and HECTOR.
Introduction to Strategies for Organic Synthesis
by
The stepping-stone text for students with a preliminary knowledge of organic chemistry looking to move into organic synthesis research and graduate-level coursework Organic synthesis is an advanced but important field of organic chemistry, however resources for advanced undergraduates and graduate students moving from introductory organic chemistry courses to organic synthesis research are scarce. Introduction to Strategies for Organic Synthesis is designed to fill this void, teaching practical skills for making logical retrosynthetic disconnections, while reviewing basic organic transformations, reactions, and reactivities. Divided into seven parts that include sections on Retrosynthesis and Protective Groups; Overview of Organic Transformations; Synthesis of Monofunctional Target Molecules; Synthesis of Target Molecules with Two Functional Groups; Synthesis of Aromatic Target Molecules; Synthesis of Compounds Containing Rings; and Predicting and Controlling Stereochemistry, the book covers everything students need to successfully perform retrosynthetic analyses of target molecule synthesis. Starting with a review of functional group transformations, reagents, and reaction mechanisms, the book demonstrates how to plan a synthesis, explaining functional group analysis and strategic disconnections. Incorporating a review of the organic reactions covered, it also demonstrates each reaction from a synthetic chemist's point of view, to provide students with a clearer understanding of how retrosynthetic disconnections are made. Including detailed solutions to over 300 problems, worked-through examples and end-of-chapter comprehension problems, Introduction to Strategies for Organic Synthesis serves as a stepping stone for students with an introductory knowledge of organic chemistry looking to progress to more advanced synthetic concepts and methodologies.
Multi-Step Organic Synthesis
by
Access to this ebook via NLB eResources page or NLB Mobile app. To login and access, please register as an NLB member.
Combining theoretical knowledge of synthetic transformations, practical considerations, structural elucidation by interpretation of spectroscopic data as well as rationalization of structure-property relations, this textbook presents a series of 16 independent exercises, including detailed descriptions of experimental procedures, questions, and answers. The experimental descriptions are very helpful for guiding less experienced students towards a better understanding of practical aspects in synthetic organic chemistry, while the broad scope of the questions and answers is excellent for learning purposes. The exercises are based on published research articles, adapted for didactic purposes, and will thus inspire students by way of having to solve real-life problems in chemistry. A must-have for MSc and PhD students as well as postdocs in organic chemistry and related disciplines, and lecturers and organizers of lab courses in organic chemistry.
Natural Products in Medicinal Chemistry
by
The inspiration provided by biologically active natural products to conceive of hybrids, congeners, analogs and unnatural variants is discussed by experts in the field in 16 highly informative chapters. Using well-documented studies over the past decade, this timely monograph demonstrates the current importance and future potential of natural products as starting points for the development of new drugs with improved properties over their progenitors. The examples are chosen so as to represent a wide range of natural products with therapeutic relevance among others, as anticancer agents, antimicrobials, antifungals, antisense nucleosides, antidiabetics, and analgesics. From the content: * Part I: Natural Products as Sources of Potential Drugs and Systematic Compound Collections * Part II: From Marketed Drugs to Designed Analogs and Clinical Candidates * Part III: Natural Products as an Incentive for Enabling Technologies * Part IV: Natural Products as Pharmacological Tools * Part V: Nature: The Provider, the Enticer, and the Healer
Organic Chemistry: Practice Makes Perfect
by
Access to this ebook via NLB eResources page or NLB Mobile app. To login and access, please register as an NLB member.
This book covers topics of (1) Properties of organic compounds, (2) Molecular geometry and isomers, (3) Nomenclature and structure of alcohols, (4) Reactions of carboxylic acids, (5) Acid-base reactions and (6) Formation of esters.
Practical Synthetic Organic Chemistry
by
A hands-on guide to assist in the planning and execution ofsynthetic reactions in the laboratory Despite the maturity of organic chemistry, it can still be verychallenging to identify optimal methods for synthetictransformations that perform as well in real-world manufacturingprocesses as they do in the laboratory. This detailed andaccessible guide attempts to address this vexing issue and deliverproven methodologies practicing synthetic chemists will findvaluable for identifying reaction conditions that work reliablyover the broadest possible range of substrates. Practical Synthetic Organic Chemistry: Provides a practical guide to strategically planning andexecuting chemical syntheses for the bench chemist in industry Discusses information that is not common knowledge beyond theboundaries of process chemistry groups, such as the syntheticroutes of selected contemporary pharmaceutical drugs and practicalsolvents, as well as green chemistry concepts Highlights key reactions, including substitutions, additions,eliminations, rearrangements, oxidations, and reductions Addresses basic principles, mechanisms, advantages anddisadvantages of the methodology, and techniques for achievinglaboratory success Incorporating such an extraordinary wealth of information onorganic chemistry and its related fields into one complete volumedistinguishes Practical Synthetic Organic Chemistry as anincomparable desktop reference for professionals--and aninvaluable study aid for students.
Strategies for Green Organic Synthesis
by
This book focuses on green conditions, such as reactions under microwave irradiation, sonication, and the use of different green solvents and green catalysts such as PTC and crown ethers. It covers two of the most important carbon-carbon bond forming reaction: the Baylis-Hillman reaction and the Friedal-Crafts reaction. In addition to discussing normal conditions, the author also details the use of microwaves in water, ionic liquids, and PEG for the former as well as details of the aqueous phase, super critical C02, other green solvents and microwave irradiation for the latter. The text also addresses reactions in the solid state on photo irradiation and enzymes.
This site contains links to third-party websites. These websites are provided only as a convenience to visitors and does not imply any endorsement of the linked sites by Nanyang Polytechnic. The linked sites are not under the control of Nanyang Polytechnic, and Nanyang Polytechnic is NOT responsible for the contents or communication of any linked site or any link contained in a link site.
