Determining information entails formulating search strategies, applying mind mapping techniques to expand keywords from main concepts to effectively search for information. We have also included basic essential information on Digital Fluency and Digital Etiquettes in this section.
Note: "Digital Fluency" is "Digital Literacy" renamed by SSG in 2019.
Infographics
Videos - Searching for Information
LinkedIn Learning Videos-Login
LinkedIn Learning - provides access to bite-sized video tutorials covering the areas of architecture, business strategy, cloud computing, digital marketing, design, data analysis, communication, leadership, Microsoft Office and others. - provides access to bite-sized video tutorials covering the areas of architecture, business strategy, cloud computing, digital marketing, design, data analysis, communication, leadership, Microsoft Office and others.
Steps to access LinkedIn Learning
1. Login
|
NP |
NYP |
SP |
TP |
2. Click 'Continue without LinkedIn' on the Welcome page.
3. Click 'Do not connect my account'
ONLINE VIDEO COURSE - How to use LinkedIn Learning
MOBILE ACCESS GUIDE - LinkedIn Mobile App | iOS | Android & Tablet
LinkedIn Learning Videos- Determine Information
- Building digital literacy skills In this course, the LinkedIn Learning team shows how to use the tools and features of LinkedIn Learning to meet student learning needs and provide a centralized place for all your learning materials, including custom videos, links, and PDFs.
- How people use search Learn how search factors impact how your content makes its way to your audience.
- Online searching tips and tricks Learn a handful of powerful search strategies that can help you find what you need quickly.
LinkedIn Learning Videos- Information Literacy
- What is information literacy? This video explains what is information literacy and how to make use of it to broaden your information needs.
- Identifying your information needs Watch this video to learn about strategies for finding information—from a library, archive, database, or the Internet—and the ethics of using it.
elearning- Determine Information
- Determine the extent of your information needs by Digital Life @Polys Determine how to search for the right information for your study or research.
Web Resources- Determine Information
- 15 creative mind map examples for students This guide is for students who are looking for mind map examples.
- Advanced search techniques The techniques explained in this page will help you become the fast, effective searcher you really need to be a student relying on online information sources.
- How mind maps make researching easier When you’re researching a topic, a mind map allows you to move away from predefined structure, and lets the ideas grow.
- How to mind map This article shares techniques and benefits of mind mapping.
- Mind mapping in education This article shows how Mind Mapping helps students to organize ideas and understand concepts better.
- What is an effective search? An in-depth look at research strategies and how they can lead to an ‘effective’ search
Journal Articles- Determine Information
- Using mind mapping to identify research topics: a lesson for teaching research methods This article illustrates how the mind mapping technique was used to assist undergraduate health education students in developing topic ideas for a descriptive research study.
Web Resources- Digital Fluency
- Fostering digital fluency This guide by EdTechTeam shares how a common vocabulary, using robust resources, and having a strong online identity, can help our students to do amazing things in a safe and engaging environment.
- How to assess digital literacy for students (and educators!) This article covers understanding how to do online research and use a wide array of digital tools.
- Teaching strategies checklist : Digital fluency check This guide by iICTE Solutions provides digital fluency checklists that can be used by teachers
- What is digital fluency? This guide by Digital Learning Collaborative provides definition of digital fluency. It is useful for us to understand what digital fluency is all about.
Videos- Digital Fluency
Video - Digital Learning
LinkedIn Learning Videos- Digital Fluency
- The meaning of data fluency This video shows you how to prepare data, explore it visually, and use statistical methods to describe it.
Journal Articles- Digital Fluency
- Digital literacies and the skills of the digital age This chapter is intended to provide a framework and understanding of digital literacy, what it is and why it is important.
Web Resources- Digital Learning
A one-stop portal to multidisciplinary content, Polite Mall is a joint initiative by Singapore's five polytechnics. Available to all polytechnic staff and students, sign in with your staff/student login credentials.
Offers instructional videos on a range of topics from arts and humanities to engineering and science.
A web-based publication of Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) course materials.
Webinars - Digital Learning
Did you know? Databases subscribed by the polytechnic libraries provide a treasure trove of webinars that could be part of your digital learning strategy. Here are some recommended sources:
Webinars presented by marketing thought leaders and covering topics from selecting an influencer to brand launch strategies.
For webinars, videos and podcasts of industry trends.