Health Sciences related databases can be accessed via the Library Portal.
Go to Resources > Use [Filters] and select Subject - "Health & Social Sciences" and Format - "Databases".
Some databases specific to Anatomy and Physiology:
Visual Anatomy and Physiology
by
Visual Anatomy & Physiology combines a one-of-a-kind visual approach with a modular organisation that uniquely meets the needs of today's students--without sacrificing the comprehensive coverage of A&P topics required for careers in nursing and other allied health professions.
Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology
by
Comprehensive, illustrated, and perhaps most importantly: applicable in practice. The latest edition of this best-selling textbook proves difficult to put down. The third edition of Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology is a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the structure and function of the human body. Written with the needs of nursing and healthcare students in mind, this bestselling textbook incorporates clinical examples and scenarios throughout to illustrate how the topics covered are applied in practice. Hundreds of full-colour illustrations complement numerous case studies encompassing all fields of nursing practice, alongside learning outcomes, self-assessment tests, chapter summaries, and other effective learning tools. This latest edition has been thoroughly updated by a team of international contributors to reflect the current Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards for Education, with enhanced online learning resources including an image bank, a searchable online glossary, flashcards, interactive multiple-choice questions, and more. Offering a user-friendly introduction to anatomy and physiology, this textbook: Provides a variety of clinical scenarios and examples to relate theory to practice Outlines the disorders associated with each chapter's topic Presents information on medicines management for each body system Is written by an international team Features extensive supplementary online resources for both students and instructors Is available with accompanying study guide, Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology Workbook Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology is the perfect introduction to the subject for student nurses, particularly those in the first year of their course, healthcare assistants and nursing associates, and other allied health students.
Anatomy and Physiology for Dummies
by
Learn about the human body from the inside out Some people think that knowing about what goes on inside the human body can sap life of its mystery--which is too bad for them. Anybody who's ever taken a peak under the hood knows that the human body, and all its various structures and functions, is a realm of awe-inspiring complexity and countless wonders. The dizzying dance of molecule, cell, tissue, organ, muscle, sinew, and bone that we call life can be a thing of breathtaking beauty and humbling perfection. Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies combines anatomical terminology and function so you'll learn not only names and terms but also gain an understanding of how the human body works. Whether you're a student, an aspiring medical, healthcare or fitness professional, or just someone who's curious about the human body and how it works, this book offers you a fun, easy way to get a handle on the basics of anatomy and physiology. Understand the meaning of terms in anatomy and physiology Get to know the body's anatomical structures--from head to toe Explore the body's systems and how they interact to keep us alive Gain insight into how the structures and systems function in sickness and health Written in plain English and packed with beautiful illustrations, Anatomy & Physiology For Dummies is your guide to a fantastic voyage of the human body.
Gray's Basic Anatomy
by
Depend on Gray's Basic Anatomy, 2nd Edition to deliver superbly illustrated, authoritative, interactive content preferred by both students and faculty. Easy-to-read and concise, it has a strong clinical focus that's ideal for readers who need an efficient, high-yield anatomy textbook offering coverage of the most important anatomical concepts. Part of the renowned Gray's family of references, featuring outstanding full-color artwork praised for its utility and clarity, relevant and accurate content, a strong clinical focus, and interactive online features. Easy-to-use format Online features include self-assessment questions, additional clinical, and PT cases, and much more. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book as well as new materials (outlined above) designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. New figures throughout, including explanatory artwork of the cranial nerves. New Imaging Apps boxes, including OCT, provide even more student-friendly exposure to clinical content. New Clinical Apps boxes detail clinical implications.
Hole's Human Anatomy and Physiology
by
Learn. Practice. Assess. Hole's Human Anatomy and Physiology was created for the introductory level student and assumes no prior science knowledge by placing emphasis on the fundamentals. This new edition updates a great A&P classic while offering greater efficiencies to the user. The format for the 14th edition focuses on Learning Outcomes and Assessments to benefit the student along with the instructor.
Human Anatomy, Color Atlas and Textbook
by
The new edition of this well-known hybrid anatomy core text and atlas superbly depicts and describes the human body, so you can identify anatomical structures with confidence and have a clear understanding of the core anatomy you need. Now fully revised and updated, it is the only textbook and atlas of gross anatomy that illustrates all structures using high-quality dissection photographs AND clearly labelled line drawings for each photograph. This is combined with concise yet thorough text to support and explain all key human anatomy and clearly relate it to clinical practice. The complete, downloadable eBook (via Student Consult), enhanced with interactive self-assessment material, completes this superb, comprehensive resource. It will be particularly relevant to medical and dental students, as well as candidates preparing for higher surgical specialties and radiology. It will also be an invaluable, accessible guide for students in other professions where anatomy is an important component of the course. New highlighting of expanded clinically relevant portions of the text and the Clinical Case Skills pages help readers quickly understand how to apply gross anatomical knowledge to clinical settings High quality, colored dissection photographs show structures most likely to be seen and tested in the lab - helps students recognize and interpret gross specimens accurately Interpretive line drawings next to every photograph clearly identify structures described in the adjacent text and consistent use of color-coding helps differentiate muscle, ligament, peritoneum etc. New photographs with the latest imaging techniques employed in current practice reveal anatomical structures clearly This book comes with the complete, downloadable eBook via STUDENT CONSULT - enhanced with new interactive self-assessment material to check understanding and aid exam preparation High quality, richly coloured dissection photographs show structures most likely to be seen and tested in the lab - helps you recognize and interpret gross specimens accurately Interpretive line drawings next to every photograph, with consistent colour-coding - helps you clearly identify structures and differentiate fat, muscle, ligament, etc. 'Clinical Skills' pages and new highlighting of the most clinically relevant text helps readers quickly understand how to apply knowledge of gross anatomy to the clinical setting New photographs reflect the latest imaging techniques as seen in current practice This book comes with the complete, downloadable eBook via STUDENT CONSULT - enhanced with new interactive self-assessment material to check understanding and aid exam preparation
McMinn's Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy
by
Originally published as part of the McMinn anatomy atlas family, McMinn's Color Atlas of Head and Neck Anatomy remains the only large format photographic atlas of the human head and neck, incorporating outstanding dissections, osteology, radiographic and surface anatomy images. It is the ideal study aid or trusted reference for the range of students and practitioners who require a detailed understanding of the head and neck, including those in dentistry, radiology and surgery. Dissections are accompanied by concise notes and commentaries, as well as orientational artworks to help readers locate the structure on the body. Dental anaesthesia information and important quick reference lists are also incorporated in appendices at the back of the book. This updated fifth edition offers increased clinical relevance and features an entirely new chapter on Imaging of the Head and Neck, reflecting the very latest modalities and techniques. It also comes with the complete, enhanced eBook for the first time. Increased clinical relevance - helps translate traditional anatomy into current clinical practice All new state-of-the-art clinical imaging - including: 3T MRI of the brain with tractography Cone-beam CT assessment of the jaws and middle ear Concise notes and commentaries for every dissection Dedicated dental section Access to complete downloadable eBook version via Expert Consult, with bonus enhancements - including: Over 180 additional figures - expands the imaging of normal and developmental structures and highlights common and clinically important variations, anomalies, defects and diseases Interactive question bank - over 150 multiple choice questions to aid exam preparation and check your understanding
Human Gross Anatomy
by
Detailed enough for use as an atlas and concise enough for efficient review, Human Gross Anatomy provides concentrated coverage of anatomy that promotes learning rather than rote memorization. Clear, high quality cadaveric photographs and explanatory diagrams are presented side by side with bulleted explanations to help students develop a true understanding of anatomical structures. Addressing current curriculum trends with a systemic approach--while maintaining the regional approach used in dissection labs--this practical, user-friendly text highlights important muscle information through "Action Boxes" and uses color-coded labels for origin, insertion, and innervation. Human Gross Anatomy is ideal for anatomy students in medical, osteopathic, dental, physical therapy, chiropractic, physician assistant, and nurse practitioner programs. Atlas images combine with bulleted text to promote learning versus rote memorization High quality cadaveric photographs show dissections that students can achieve, supporting visual understanding Systems approach presented within each regional chapter to align with a range of curricula Muscle information highlighted in "action boxes" with color coding for origin, insertion, innervation Helpful Notes and Clinical Notes put images in context Extensive osteology coverage enhances student understanding of this subdiscipline Available with interactive eBook at no additional cost
Essentials of anatomy & physiology
by
Browse and borrow e-books via Library Portal!
Go to Resources > Use [Filters] and select Subject - "Health & Social Sciences" and Format - "eBooks".
You may like to check out the following e-books platforms:
Check out useful e-books such as:
Human Anatomy & Physiology, Global Edition
by
For the two-semester A&P course. Equipping learners with 21st-century skills to succeed in A&P and beyond Human Anatomy & Physiology, by best-selling authors Elaine Marieb and Katja Hoehn, motivates and supports learners at every level, from novice to expert, equipping them with 21st century skills to succeed in A&P and beyond. Each carefully paced chapter guides students in advancing from mastering A&P terminology to applying knowledge in clinical scenarios, to practicing the critical thinking and problem-solving skills required for entry to nursing, allied health, and exercise science programs. From the very first edition, Human Anatomy & Physiology has been recognized for its engaging, conversational writing style, easy-to-follow figures, and its unique clinical insights. The 11th Edition continues the authors’ tradition of innovation, building upon what makes this the text used by more schools than any other A&P title and addressing the most effective ways students learn. Unique chapter-opening roadmaps help students keep sight of “big picture” concepts for organizing information; memorable, familiar analogies describe and explain structures and processes clearly and simply; an expanded number of summary tables and Focus Figures help learners focus on important details and processes; and a greater variety and range of self-assessment questions help them actively learn and apply critical thinking skills.
Clinical Anatomy
by
Now in its fourteenth edition, Clinical Anatomy is the definitive text offering medical students, postgraduate trainees and junior doctors the anatomical information they need to succeed in a clinical setting. Professor Harold Ellis and Professor Vishy Mahadevan provide an accessible, comprehensive, and detailed exploration of anatomy, specifically designed for students and trainees at all levels. Revised and updated, the fourteenth edition contains more information about the nervous system as well as medical images, diagrams and photographs that are overlaid with anatomical illustrations, revealing detailed surface anatomy. This edition: Puts greater emphasis on clinical relevance and contains more content for non-surgical trainees Offers a variety of illustrative clinical scenario case studies Contains many more medical images and diagrams such as CT and MRI Presents expanded information on the nervous system Includes a companion website that contains digital flashcards of all the illustrations and photographs presented in the book Written for medical students, junior doctors, and those studying for The Royal College of Surgeons examinations, the new edition of Clinical Anatomy continues to be an essential resource for understanding the basics of clinical anatomy.
Atlas of Human Anatomy
by
The only anatomy atlas illustrated by physicians, Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th edition, brings you world-renowned, exquisitely clear views of the human body with a clinical perspective. In addition to the famous work of Dr. Frank Netter, you'll also find nearly 100 paintings by Dr. Carlos A. G. Machado, one of today's foremost medical illustrators. Together, these two uniquely talented physician-artists highlight the most clinically relevant views of the human body. In addition, more than 50 carefully selected radiologic images help bridge illustrated anatomy to living anatomy as seen in everyday practice. Region-by-region coverage, including Muscle Table appendices at the end of each section. Large, clear illustrations with comprehensive labels not only of major structures, but also of those with important relationships. Tabular material in separate pages and additional supporting material as a part of the electronic companion so the printed page stays focused on the illustration. Updates to the 7th Edition - based on requests from students and practitioners alike: New Systems Overview section featuring brand-new, full-body views of surface anatomy, vessels, nerves, and lymphatics. More than 25 new illustrations by Dr. Machado, including the clinically important fascial columns of the neck, deep veins of the leg, hip bursae, and vasculature of the prostate; and difficult-to-visualize areas like the infratemporal fossa. New Clinical Tables at the end of each regional section that focus on structures with high clinical significance. These tables provide quick summaries, organized by body system, and indicate where to best view key structures in the illustrated plates. More than 50 new radiologic images - some completely new views and others using newer imaging tools - have been included based on their ability to assist readers in grasping key elements of gross anatomy. Updated terminology based on the international anatomic standard, Terminologia Anatomica, with common clinical eponyms included. Student Consult access includes a pincode to unlock the complete enhanced eBook of the Atlas through Student Consult. Every plate in the Atlas-and over 100 Bonus Plates including illustrations from previous editions-are enhanced with an interactive label quiz option and supplemented with "Plate Pearls" that provide quick key points and supplemental tools for learning, reviewing, and assessing your knowledge of the major themes of each plate. Tools include 300 multiple choice questions, videos, 3D models, and links to related plates.
Human Anatomy, Global Edition
by
For one-semester courses in human anatomy. Help students visualize human anatomy The #1 best-selling textbook for the human anatomy course, Human Anatomy, Eighth Edition is widely regarded as the most readable and visually accessible book on the market. The book’s hallmark strengths – detailed art that teaches better and a student-friendly narrative are enhanced through more prominent in-text media references and updated Focus Figures. Within the text, photos reinforce real-world applications, and cadaver photos and micrographs appear side-by-side with art, working together to help students accurately visualize key anatomical structures.
The Human Body in Health and Disease
by
Completely revised and updated, The Human Body in Health & Disease, 8th Edition makes it easier to understand how the body works, both in typical conditions and when things change. Its easy-to-read writing style, more than 500 full-color illustrations, and unique Clear View of the Human Body transparencies keep you focused on the principles of anatomy, physiology, and pathology. Key features are Connect It! with bonus online content, concept maps with flow charts to simplify complex topics, and chapter objectives and active learning sections. From noted educator Kevin Patton, this book presents A&P in a way that lets you know and understand what is important. More than 500 full-color photographs and drawings illustrate the most current scientific knowledge and bring difficult concepts to life. The beautifully rendered illustrations are unified by a consistent color key and represent a diversity of human identity. A conversational writing style is paired with "chunked" content, making it easy to read and comprehend. UNIQUE! Creative page design uses color backgrounds to organize information in a more inviting, accessible, and motivating way to enhance learning. UNIQUE! The full-color, semi-transparent Clear View of the Human Body permits the on-demand virtual dissection of typical male and female human bodies along several body planes. This 22-page insert contains a series of transparencies that allows you to peel back the layers of the body anterior-to-posterior and posterior-to-anterior. Language of Science/Language of Medicine word lists at the beginning of chapters present key terms, pronunciations, and word-part translations to help you become familiar with new and complex terminology. Animation Direct feature throughout the text guides you to state-of-the-art animations on the companion Evolve website to provide dynamic visual explanations of key concepts. Active Concept Maps offer animated, narrated walk-throughs of concept maps to clarify the text narrative and provide you with clear examples of how to build your own concept maps.
This site contains links to third-party websites. These websites are provided only as a convenience to visitors and does not imply any endorsement of the linked sites by Nanyang Polytechnic. The linked sites are not under the control of Nanyang Polytechnic, and Nanyang Polytechnic is NOT responsible for the contents or communication of any linked site or any link contained in a link site.
