Medical nutrition therapy simulations [electronic resource]
by
Nutrition
by
Following the tradition of its predecessor, the fifth edition of Nutrition: Maintaining and Improving Health continues to offer a wide-ranging coverage of all aspects of nutrition while providing new information to this edition including: Increased coverage of experimental and observational methods used in nutrition In-depth focus on the nutritional implications of the increased adoption of vegetarian and vegan lifestyles Streamlined referencing - a short selected list of key references at the end of each chapter with URL links to free additional resources where possible Discussion of nutrition debates Critical coverage of "medicinal uses of food" including superfoods, functional foods and dietary supplements Updated bullet point summaries of key points after each major topic within each chapter The author provides an evidence-based evaluation of many key nutrition beliefs and philosophies. The book contains in-depth and critical reviews of the methods used to evaluate nutritional intakes/status and the observational and experimental used to investigate putative links between dietary factors and health outcome. It covers the role of food as a source of energy and nutrients while discussing the non-nutritional roles of food and the social and psychological factors that influence food choice. Presenting a critical discussion on the value of nutrition research linking specific foods or nutrients to specific diseases which encourages students to question the value of some current nutrition research. This is essential reading for all nutrition and dietetics students with different backgrounds who are studying nutrition as a specific discipline for the first time.
Nutrition
by
NUTRITION: YOUR LIFE SCIENCE, Second Edition, helps you understand the fundamental principles of nutritional science through an interactive, flexible, and fun learning experience. Turley/Thompson gives you a variety of options to learn, review, and demonstrate your knowledge. Use the unique learning aids, including Take-Ten Reflective Questions, Practices, and Bio Beats, to engage with the material and develop a better understanding of how nutrition concepts apply to your own life.
Nutrition: Health and Metabolism
by
Nutrition is the branch of science that studies the effect of nutrients present in food on the growth and health of living organisms. Nutrition improves and maintains health and metabolism. Health is the ability of human beings to adapt and manage themselves when subjected to a change in their surroundings whether physical, mental or social whereas metabolism is the sum of all the reactions taking place inside a human body. The objective of this book is to give a general view of the different areas of nutrition and metabolism. It covers in detail some existent theories and innovative concepts revolving around this field. A number of latest researches have been included in this book to keep the readers up-to-date with the global concepts in this area of study. This book, with its detailed analysis and data, will prove immensely beneficial to professionals and students involved in this area at various levels. Those in search of information to further their knowledge will be greatly assisted by this book.
Nutrition Assessment Clinical and Research Applications
by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting toolsWritten for the graduate-level nutrition course, Nutrition Assessment: Clinical and Research Applications explores the purpose, methods, and scientific basis for nutritional assessment in community, clinical, and individual nutrition settings. It provides students with the basic knowledge and skills to identify nutrition problems, develop research questions and study hypotheses, and plan nutrition interventions and treatments. Divided into six sections, Nutrition Assessment opens with a historical perspective of nutrition assessment as well as an overview of the basis of scientific and nutritional research. The next four sections delve into the primary methods of nutritional assessment: dietary, anthropometric, biochemical, and clinical assessments. The final section is intended to cover public health topics including population wellness, health coaching, nutrition interventions, and international research.
Nutrition for Elite Athletes
by
In order to achieve and maintain peak performance, high-level athletes require the right nutrition at the right time. Nutrition for Elite Athletes provides a comprehensive overview of the latest research on the nutritional requirements of athletes at the top of their game.Since researchers, clinicians, and graduate students work with certain popula
Nutrition for the Older Adult
by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Updated to the latest data and expert information, the Third Edition of Nutrition for the Older Adult introduces students to the unique nutritional needs of this growing population. Designed for the undergraduate, the text begins by covering the basics, including the demographics of aging, physiology of aging, and vitamin and mineral requirements for older adults. It then delves into clinical considerations, including the nutritional implications of diseases and conditions common among older adult. Additional coverage includes: nutritional assessment, pharmacology, nutritional support, and much more. With new pedagogical features along with revamped end-of-chapter activities and questions, Nutrition for the Older Adult is an essential resource for students in the fields of nutrition, nursing, public health and gerontology.With Navigate 2, technology and content combine to expand the reach of your classroom. Whether you teach an online, hybrid, or traditional classroom-based course, Navigate 2 delivers unbeatable value. Experience Navigate 2 today at www.jblnavigate.com/2.
Nutrition Through the Life Cycle
by
Understand how diet impacts your health with NUTRITION THROUGH THE LIFE CYCLE, Sixth Edition! Based on the latest research available, this text explores the many ways nutrition impacts your growth, development, and normal functioning as you progress through each stage of life, along with some common ailments that can result from nutritional deficits. Packed with current research and resources to help you build your knowledge base, the text alternates between "normal" nutrition and clinical applications, to address each life stage completely. NUTRITION THROUGH THE LIFE CYCLE, Sixth Edition also shares insights of expert authors -- from registered dietitians and other clinical professionals to teachers and researchers -- to help you grasp major concepts and see the truly critical role of nutrition in human health today. Available with InfoTrac® Student Collections http://gocengage.com/infotrac.
Understanding Nutrition
by
More than one million readers make UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION the best-selling introductory nutrition book on the market today! Now in its 14th Edition, this book maintains the quality and support that discerning readers demand in nutrition applications and science that are ideal at introductory levels. New and updated topics refresh every chapter, along with the emphasis on active learning, assignable content, and integrated resources that help you advance your knowledge and career. Connecting with you through an approachable writing style, UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION, 14th Edition includes twenty chapters on topics such as diet planning, macronutrients, vitamins and minerals, diet and health, fitness, life span nutrition, food safety, and world hunger, among others. Combined with a carefully developed art program and a variety of interactive activities, UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION, 14th Edition continues to set the standard for introductory nutrition texts.
Wardlaw's Perspectives in Nutrition
by
COMING SOON: Revised for2015 Dietary Guidelines Finally one-stop shopping for everything you need for your introductory majors course! Building upon the long-standing strengths of Wardlaw's Perspectives in Nutrition, the tenth edition author team has taken a garden-fresh approach to revising this highly regarded text. Every paragraph has been scrutinized to ensure that students are exposed to scientific content and concepts that are explained accurately and precisely, and in high-interest fashion that will draw students into their first study of nutrition science. Students will benefit from a carefully crafted text that brings them up-to-date scientific thinking and research blended with dynamic activities that will allow them to apply their knowledge to their own lives and future careers. Instructors will have the ability to assign auto-graded coursework and tutorials that are assessed against Learning Outcomes. The textbook content also serves as the basis for an adaptive, diagnostic self-learning tool for students that will help them acquire mastery and improved grades. Users who purchase Connect Plus receive access to the full online ebook version of the textbook.
Nutrition, Fitness, and Mindfulness: An Evidence-Based Guide for Clinicians
by
