Carbohydrate
Meat
Protein
Food Packaging
The Library not only subscribes to many databases and e-resources, but also houses a good collection of books and journals to support teaching, learning and research needs.
The School of Applied Science books are classified according to Library of Congress Classification Scheme. You may wish to search the Catalogue by Title/Author/Subject/ISBN, including eBooks, databases and e-Journals that are accessible via the Library Portal.
Please use the tabs to navigate the guide and feel free to contact me if you have any queries about this resource guide on Food Science & Nutrition (C69).
You may wish to click here to browse through Library Services to Support Teaching & Learning libguide.
Advances in Food Security and Sustainability by
Advances in Food Security and Sustainability, Volume Four, takes a scientific look at the challenges, constraints and solutions necessary to maintain a healthy and accessible food supply in different communities. This ongoing series addresses a wide range of issues on food sustainability and security, with this release focusing on The Evolution of Food Security Policy in Lao PDR: Continuity and Change in the Era of the Sustainable Development Goals, Food System Resilience and Diversity, A Pliable Pillar: How the Social Dimension of Sustainability Has Been Framed in UK Public Food Policy, and much more. Contains expertise from leading contributions on the topics Covers a vast array of subjects relating to food security and sustainability Explores challenges related to protecting environmental resources while also meeting human nutritional requirements
Advances in Noninvasive Food Analysis by
To ensure food quality and safety food, professionals need a knowledge of food composition and characteristics. The analysis of food product is required for quality management throughout the developmental process including the raw materials and ingredients, but food analysis adds processing cost for food industry and consumes time for government agencies. Advances in Noninvasive Food Analysis explores the potential and recent advances in non-invasive food analysis techniques used to ensure food quality and safety. Such cost-reducing and time-saving non-destructive food analysis techniques covered include, Infrared, Raman Spectroscopy, and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance. The book also covers data processing and modelling. Features: Covers the advent of non-invasive, non-destructive methods of food analysis Presents such techniques as near and mid infrared, Raman Spectroscopy, and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Describes the growing role of nanotechnology in non-invasive food analysis Includes image analysis and data processing and modelling required to sort out the data The prime for this book are food professionals working in industry, control authorities and research organizations that ensure food quality and safety as well as libraries of universities with substantial food science programs, food companies and food producers with research and development departments. Also available in the Contemporary Food Engineering series: Advances in Food Bioproducts, Fermentation Engineering and Bioprocessing Technologies　, edited by Monica Lizeth Chavez Gonzalez, Nagamani Balagurusamy, Christobal N. Aguilar (ISBN 9781138544222) Advances in Vinegar Production, edited by Argyro Bekatorou (ISBN 9780815365990) Innovative Technologies in Seafood Processing, edited by Yesim Ozogul (ISBN 9780815366447)
Aging, Nutrition and Taste by
Approximately 380 million people worldwide are 60 years of age or older. This number is predicted to triple to more than 1 billion by 2025. Aging, Nutrition and Taste: Nutrition, Food Science and Culinary Perspectives for Aging Tastefully provides research, facts, theories, practical advice and recipes with full color photographs to feed the rapidly growing aging population healthfully. This book takes an integrated approach, utilizing nutrition, food science and the culinary arts. A significant number of aging adults may have taste and smell or chemosensory disorders and many may also be considered to be undernourished. While this can be partially attributed to the behavioral, physical and social changes that come with aging, the loss or decline in taste and smell may be at the root of other disorders. Aging adults may not know that these disorders exist nor what can be done to compensate. This text seeks to fill the knowledge gap. Aging, Nutrition and Taste: Nutrition, Food Science and Culinary Perspectives for Aging Tastefully examines aging from three perspectives: nutritional changes that affect health and well-being; food science applications that address age-specific chemosensory changes, compromised disease states and health, and culinary arts techniques that help make food more appealing to diminishing senses. Beyond scientific theory, readers will find practical tips and techniques, products, recipes, and menus to increase the desirability, consumption and gratification of healthy foods and beverages as people age. Presents information on new research and theories including a fresh look at calcium, cholesterol, fibers, omega-3 fatty acids, higher protein requirements, vitamins C, E, D, trace minerals and phytonutrients and others specifically for the aging population Includes easy to access and usable definitions in each chapter, guidelines, recommendations, tables and usable bytes of information for health professionals, those who work with aging populations and aging people themselves Synthesizes overall insights in overviews, introductions and digest summaries of each chapter, identifying relevant material from other chapters and clarifying their pertinence
Essentials and Applications of Food Engineering by
Essentials & Applications of Food Engineering provides a comprehensive understanding of food engineering operations and their practical and industrial utility. It presents pertinent case studies, solved numerical problems, and multiple choice questions in each chapter and serves as a ready reference for classroom teaching and exam preparations. The first part of this textbook contains the introductory topics on units and dimensions, material balance, energy balance, and fluid flow. The second part deals with the theory and applications of heat and mass transfer, psychrometry, and reaction kinetics. The subsequent chapters of the book present the heat and mass transfer operations such as evaporation, drying, refrigeration, freezing, mixing, and separation. The final section focuses on the thermal, non-thermal, and nanotechnology-based novel food processing techniques, 3D food printing, active and intelligent food packaging, and fundamentals of CFD modeling. 　 Features Features 28 case studies to provide a substantial understanding of the practical and industrial applications of various food engineering operations Includes 178 solved numerical problems and 285 multiple choice questions Highlights the application of mass balance in food product traceability and the importance of viscosity measurement in a variety of food products Provides updated information on novel food processing techniques such as cold plasma, 3D food printing, nanospray drying, electrospraying, and electrospinning The textbook is designed for undergraduate and graduate students pursuing Food Technology and Food Process Engineering courses. This book would also be of interest to course instructors and food industry professionals.
Food Labels: Your Questions Answered by
This book provides an approachable introduction to food labels. While aimed primarily at teens and young adults, it is a valuable tool for anyone who wants to better understand what food labels are really saying and make healthy food choices. * Makes the subject accessible to readers by means of a simple Q&Amp;A format * Helps readers hone their research and critical thinking skills in a Guide to Health Literacy section * Provides real-world examples of concepts discussed in the book through case studies * Dispels popular misconceptions in a Common Myths section and directs readers towards accurate information * Points readers towards additional books, organizations, and websites for further study and research in an annotated directory of resources
Food Wastes and By-Products by
A complete guide to the evolving methods by which we may recover by-products and significantly reduce food waste Across the globe, one third of cereals and almost half of all fruits and vegetables go to waste. The cost of such waste - both to economies and to the environment - is a serious and increasing concern within the food industry. If we are to overcome this crisis and move towards a sustainable future, we must do everything possible to utilize innovative new methods of extracting and processing valuable by-products of all kinds. Food Wastes and By-products represents a complete primer to this important and complex process. Edited and written by leading researchers, the text provides essential information on the supply of waste and its composition, identifies foods rich in valuable bioactive compounds, and explores revolutionary methods for creating by-products from fruit, vegetable, and seed waste. Other chapters discuss the nutraceutical properties of value-added by-products and their uses in the manufacturing of dietary fibers, food flavors, supplements, pectin, and more. This book: Explains how reconstituted by-products can best be used to radically reduce food waste Discusses the potential nutraceutical assets of recovered food waste Covers a broad range of by-product sources, such as mangos, cacao, flaxseed, and spent coffee grounds Describes novel extraction processes and the emerging use of nanotechnology A significant contribution to the field, Food Wastes and By-products is a timely and essential resource for food industry professionals, government agencies and NGOs involved in nutrition, agriculture, and food production, and university instructors and students in related areas.
Heat Pumps in Chemical Process Industry by
As the chemical process industry is among the most energy demanding sectors, chemical engineers are endeavoring to contribute towards sustainable future. Due to the limitation of fossil fuels, the need for energy independence, as well as the environmental problem of the greenhouse gas effect, there is a large increasing interest in the research and development of chemical processes that require less capital investment and reduced operating costs and lead to high eco-efficiency. The use of heat pumps is a hot topic due to many advantages, such as low energy requirements as well as an increasing number of industrial applications. Therefore, in the current book, authors are focusing on use of heat pumps in the chemical industry, providing an overview of heat pump technology as applied in the chemical process industry, covering both theoretical and practical aspects: working principle, applied thermodynamics, theoretical background, numerical examples and case studies, as well as practical applications. The worked-out examples have been included to instruct students, engineers and process designers about how to design various heat pumps used in the industry. Reader friendly resources namely relevant equations, diagrams, figures and references that reflect the current and upcoming heat pump technologies, will be of great help to all readers from the chemical and petrochemical industry, biorefineries and other related areas.
Innovations in Traditional Foods by
Innovations in Traditional Foods addresses the most relevant topics of traditional foods while placing emphasis on the introduction of innovations and consumer preferences. Certain food categories, such as fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, grains and legumes, vegetables, mushrooms, roots and tubers, table olives and olive oil, wine, fermented foods and beverages, fish, meat, milk and dairy products are addressed. Intended for food scientists, technologists, engineers and chemists working in food science, product developers, SMEs, researchers, academics and professionals, this book provides a reference supporting technological advances, product development improvements and potential positioning in the traditional food market. Addresses the most relevant topics of traditional foods while placing emphasis on the introduction of innovations and consumer preferences Provides a reference supporting technological advances, product development improvements, and potential positioning in the traditional food market Contains coverage of various food categories, including fruits, grains, nuts, seeds, grains and legumes, vegetables, mushrooms, roots and tubers, table olives and olive oil, wine, fermented foods and beverages, fish, meat, and milk and dairy products
Innovative Thermal and Non-Thermal Processing, Bioaccessibility and Bioavailability of Nutrients and Bioactive Compounds by
Innovative Thermal and Nonthermal Processing, Bioacessibility and Bioavailability of Nutrients and Bioactive Compounds presents the implications of conventional and innovative processing on the nutritional and health aspects of food products. Chapters cover the relationship between gastronomic science, nutrition and food science in the development of healthy products, introduce the most commonly used conventional and innovative approaches to preserve foods and extract valuable compounds, describe how processing affects bioavailability and bioaccessibility of lipids, particularly fatty acids, protein, amino acids and carbohydrates, and discuss how processing affects bioavailability and bioaccessibility of minerals, water-soluble vitamins, and fat soluble vitamins. Final sections cover processing, bioavailability and bioaccessibility of bioactive compounds, describing how processing (conventional and non-conventional) is affecting to bioavailability and bioaccessibility of bioactive sulphur compounds, polyphenols, flavonoids, and bioactive peptides. Presents the implications of conventional and innovative processing on the nutritional and health aspects of food products Introduces the most commonly used conventional and innovative approaches to preserve foods and extract valuable compounds Explains how processing (conventional and non-conventional) affects the bioavailability and bioaccessibility of bioactive sulphur compounds, polyphenols, flavonoids and bioactive peptides
Integrated Processing Technologies for Food and Agricultural By-Products by
Feeding our globally expanding population is one of the most critical challenges of our time and improving food and agricultural production efficiencies is a key factor in solving this problem. Currently, one-third of food produced for humans is wasted, and for every pound of food produced, roughly an equal amount of nonfood by-product is also generated, creating a significant environmental impact. In Integrated Processing Technologies for Food and Agricultural By-Products experts from around the world present latest developments, recognizing that while some by-products have found use as animal feed or are combusted for energy, new technologies which integrate conversion of production and processing by-products into higher-value food or nonfood products, nutraceuticals, chemicals, and energy resources will be a critical part of the transition to a more sustainable food system. Organized by agricultural crop, and focusing on those crops with maximum economic impact, each chapter describes technologies for value-added processing of by-products which can be integrated into current food production systems. Integrated Processing Technologies for Food and Agricultural By-Products is a valuable resource for industry professionals, academics, and policy-makers alike. Provides production-through-processing coverage of key agricultural crops for a thorough understanding and translational inspiration Describes and discusses major by-product sources, including physical and chemical biomass characterizations and associated variability in detail Highlights conversions accomplished through physical, biological, chemical, or thermal methods and demonstrates examples of those technologies
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging by
Nutrition and Functional Foods for Healthy Aging aims to equip anyone studying geriatric nutrition or working with aging adults with the latest scientific reviews of critical topics. The major objective of this book is to review, in detail, the health problems of the aged and how normal food, lifestyle, or nutritional and dietary supplements can help treat them. Nutrient requirements for optimum health and function of aging physiological systems are often quite distinct from those required for young people. The special nutrition problems of the aged are intensively researched and tested, especially as the elderly become a larger percentage of the population. Many chronic diseases and cancers are found with higher frequency in the aged, and it is also widely known that many elderly people use foods and nutrients well above the recommended daily allowance, which can be detrimental to optimal health. Explains the evidence supporting nutritional interventions relevant to age-related diseases Reviews the macro- and micro-nutrient requirements of aging adults and their variables Describes how alcohol, drugs, and caffeine can impact deficiencies, also exploring functional food and dietary supplements that can be used for prevention and treatment
Quality Control in Beverage Industry by
Quality Control in the Beverage Industry, volume 17, in the Science of Beverages series, presents a detailed account of the most common aspects and challenges relating to quality control. It covers the latest global trends in how to improve beverages using assessment tools, authenticity approaches and novel quality control technologies. The book presents a great, hands on approach for anyone who needs to understand the big picture regarding analytical methods. Topics covered include safety, the economic impacts of contamination, and detection techniques. Provides tools to assess and measure sulfites in beverages using different instrumental techniques Presents the application of nanotechnology for the improvement of beverages, including taste, structure and overall quality Includes analytical procedures for measuring and controlling quality
The Role of Alternative and Innovative Food Ingredients and Products in Consumer Wellness by
The Role of Alternative and Innovative Food Ingredients and Products in Consumer Wellness provides a guide for innovative food ingredients and food products. The book covers consumer wellness as it relates to food ingredients and functional foods, alternative ingredients, food products fortified with extracts derived from food processing by-products, food products based on Omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids and their health effects, selected superfoods and related super diets, edible insects, microalgae as health ingredients for functional foods and spirulina related products, fruit-based functional foods, pro- and pre-biotics, gluten-free products, and bioaromas. Food scientists, food technologists and nutrition researchers working on food applications and food processing will find this book extremely useful. In addition, those interested in the development of innovative products and functional foods will also benefit from this reference, as will students who study food chemistry, food science, technology, and food processing in postgraduate programs. Connects integrally new and reconsidered food ingredients with innovative food products Addresses consumer wellness as it relates to food ingredients and functional foods Analyzes food products and processes with the highest market potential
Technologies for Value Addition in Food Products and Processes by
The new volume looks at some important emerging food processing technologies in light of the demand for functional food products and high-value and nutritionally rich products. Technologies for Value Addition in Food Products and Processes covers a selection of important recent developments in food processing that work to enrich or maintain nutritional value of food products, including such applications as non-thermal plasma, refractance window drying, extrusion, enzyme immobilization, and dry fractionation. Dry fractionation, in particular, has emerged as a sustainable alternative to wet processes in last three decades for producing protein concentrates from legumes. Several chapters on fish processing cover both traditional knowledge and advances in fish processing technologies. A chapter on bioethanol production discusses the past and present status of the industry, focusing on economic feasibility and environmental viability. A chapter also discusses traditional fermentation process and nutritional aspects of ethnic foods followed by the Rabha-Hasong, Mishing and Karbi communities of Assam, India. With the contribution from experts in their respective fields, this volume provides new information on novel food processing technologies.
Trends in Beverages Packaging by
Trends in Beverage Packaging, volume 16 in the Science of Beverages series, presents an interdisciplinary approach that provides a complete understanding of packaging theories, technologies and materials. This reference offers a broad perspective regarding current trends in packaging research, quality control techniques, packaging strategies and current concerns in the industry. Consumer demand for bottled and packaged beverages has increased, and the need for scientists and researchers to understand how to analyze quality, safety and control are essential. This is an all-encompassing resource for research and development in this flourishing field that covers everything from sensory and chemical composition, to materials and manufacturing. Includes information on the monitoring of microbial activity using antimicrobial packaging detection of food borne pathogens Presents the most up-to-date information on innovations in smart packaging and sensors for the beverages industry Discusses the uses of natural and unnatural compounds for food safety and good manufacturing practices
Waste Management and the Food Industry by
Waste Management and the Food Industry gives an introduction to the food industry and explains it as a growing sector. It talks about the waste generation in food industries and the sustainability that can be achieved in such industries. It also talks about the technology used in the utilization and treatment of food and the optimization of manufacturing to bring reduction in waste generation in the food processing. Also discussed in the book is the consumer interest in waste management and co-product recovery, the environmental impact of waste generation in food industries, the issues and challenges in food waste separation and the trends and future of the food industry.
This site contains links to third-party websites. These websites are provided only as a convenience to visitors and does not imply any endorsement of the linked sites by Nanyang Polytechnic. The linked sites are not under the control of Nanyang Polytechnic, and Nanyang Polytechnic is NOT responsible for the contents or communication of any linked site or any link contained in a link site.